Special Announcements

Special Announcements

Austrian Ministry for Science and Research Scholarships

The Austrian Ministry for Science and Research will again grant a limited number of scholarships for the academic year 1977-1978 to scholars in the United States working on doctoral dissertations or other research projects in the field of Austrian history. These scholarships may not be used to supplement a stipend received from another scholarship or fellowship. Undergraduate holders of the scholarships will receive nine monthly installments of 4,500 schillings each. For doctoral candidates the stipend is 5,000 schillings; for faculty members of colleges and universities it amounts to 6,000. Also included are health and accident insurance, free tuition, and a travel allowance of 1,800 schillings for travel within Austria. Funds for overseas transportation may be obtained through a Fulbright travel grant.

Applicants should be between 20 and 35 years of age and must have an excellent command of German. Students who have completed two years of satisfactory work at a college or university may apply. Graduate students are required to continue their studies and/or research in history. Candidates should send a letter of application, together with transcripts, at least two letters of recommendation, a resume in German, and a detailed description of their intended research or study program directly to Prof. Istvan Deak, Institute on East Central Europe, Columbia University, New York, New York 10027. The deadline for application is November 15, 1976. The final selection will be made in March, 1977, by the Austrian Institute in New York City mainly from applicants recommended by the American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy.

American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy

On December 29, 1974, at the annual business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History at Chicago, Illinois, Carl E. Schorske, of Princeton University, was elected to succeed Enno E. Kraehe, of the University of Virginia, as a member of the American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy. At the business meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, on December 29, 1975, Klemens von Klemperer, of Smith College, was elected to

succeed William A. Jenks, of Washington and Lee University. The Committee is now composed of the following members: Peter Brock, of the University of Toronto; Istvan Deak, of Columbia University (executive-secretary); Dimitrije Djordjević, of the University of California at Santa Barbara; Klemens von Klemperer, of Smith College; Gunther E. Rothenberg, of Purdue University; Carl E. Schorske, of Princeton University; and R. John Rath, of Rice University (ex officio member).

American Association for the Study of Hungarian History

At the fifth annual business meeting of the American Association for the Study of Hungarian History at Chicago, Illinois, on December 28, 1974, George Barany, of the University of Denver, was elected chairman and Janos Bak, of the University of British Columbia, vice-chairman. At the sixth annual business meeting at Atlanta, Georgia, on December 28, 1975, Janos Bak, of the University of British Columbia, was elected chairman. Eva Balogh, of Yale University, was elected vice-chairman, and Nandor Dreisziger, of the Royal Military College of Canada, secretary-treasurer. At the same meeting the Association decided to combine the offices of secretary and treasurer.

The prize awarded by the Association for the first time in December, 1975, for the best article published by a Canadian or United States scholar during the past two years was given to Thomas L. Sakmyster, of the University of Cincinnati, for his article "Hungary and the Munich Crisis: the Revisionist Dilemma," Slavic Review, Vol. XXXII, No. 4 (December, 1973), pp. 729-740. The prize committee, composed of Istvan Deak, of Columbia University (chairman), Charles Schlacks, of the University of Pittsburgh, and R. John Rath, of Rice University, awarded honorable mention to the authors of two other articles: Lee Congdon, of Madison College, for his "Endre Ady's Summons to National Regeneration in Hungary, 1900-1919," Slavic Review, Vol. XXXIII, No. 2 (June, 1974), pp. 302-322; and Paul R. Magocsi, of Harvard University, for his "An Historiographical Guide to Subcarpathian Rus'," Austrian History Yearbook, Vol. IX-X (1973-1974), pp. 201-265.

The Association decided to renew the prize competition for another two-year period. Articles submitted for consideration for the prize should be sent to Prof. Istvan Deak, Institute on East Central Europe, Columbia University, New York, New York 10027. The winner of the prize will be announced at the Association's business meeting in December, 1977.

Conference Group for Central European History

On December 29, 1974, at the annual business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History at Chicago, Illinois, Dietrich Gerhard, of Washington University, was elected chairman and Theodore Hamerow, of the University of Wisconsin at Madison, vice-chairman. Gerald Feldman, of the University of California at Berkeley, was elected for a two-year term as secretary-treasurer and Klemens von Klemperer, of Smith College, to the executive board (also for a two-year term). At the business meeting at Atlanta, Georgia, on December 29, 1975, Theodore Hamerow, of the University of Wisconsin at Madison, was elected chairman and Felix Gilbert, of the Princeton Institute, vice-chairman. Vernon Lidke, of Johns Hopkins University, was elected for a two-year term on the executive board.

The following resolution was adopted at the business meeting at Atlanta:

The Conference Group for Central European History wishes to express its appreciation to Mrs. Arthur J. May for the funds which she is so kindly making available to the recipient of the Austrian Ministry of Science and Research scholarship to enable him to enjoy the cultural life of Austria as well as more rigorous intellectual pursuits. Her generous gift adds materially to the realization of one of the goals of a great pioneer scholar in Austrian history, the late Arthur J. May: training fine scholars in the field of Austrian history and awakening in them an awareness and understanding of the many cultural achievements of the peoples of Austria-Hungary during the days of the old monarchy and in more recent times.

A \$250.00 prize will be awarded in December, 1976, by the Conference Group for Central European History for the best article dealing with Central European history published by a United States or Canadian scholar in 1975 or 1976. Articles in competition for the prize may be submitted by the authors of the articles concerned, by the editors of the journals or collaborative works in which they have been published, or by anyone else who wishes to recommend them for the prize. One copy of each article submitted or recommended for the prize should be sent before November 1, 1976, to each member of the selection committee, to wit: (1) Prof. George Iggers (chairman), Department of History, State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, N. Y. 14214; (2) Dr. Arnold Price, 6693 Barnaby Street, Washington, D. C. 20015; and (3) Prof. Peter F. Sugar, Department of History, University of Washington, Seattle, Wash. 98195.