Justices." It was submitted by the Department of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania. Members of the Selection Committee were Samuel Krislov, University of Minnesota, Chairman; Lucius J. Barker, Washington University, St. Louis; and William K. Muir, University of California, Berkeley.

### The Helen Dwight Reid Award

The Helen Dwight Reid Award for the best dissertation in the field of international relations, law and politics in 1971 went to Stuart A. Bremer of the University of Michigan for his dissertation, "National and International Systems: A Computer Analysis." It was submitted by the Department of Political Science, Michigan State University. Members of the Selection Committee were Dina A. Zinnes, Indiana University, Chairman; Philip M. Burgess, Ohio State University; and Andrew M. Scott, University of North Carolina.

#### Leonard D. White Award

The Leonard D. White Award for the best dissertation in the general field of public administration, broadly defined was shared between Erza N. Suleiman, CUNY, John Jay College, for "Administration, Politics and the Higher Civil Service in France" and Jessica Wolf, Middlesex Area Mental Health Council, Inc. and University of New Haven for "Toward a Model of Interorganizational Behavior: Two Case Studies in France." Dr. Suleimans' dissertation was submitted by the Department of Political Science, Columbia University, and Dr. Wolf's dissertation was submitted by the Department of Political Science, Yale University. Members of the Selection Committee were Lloyd D. Musolf, University of California, Davis, Chairman; Chester B. Earle, American University; and Orion F. White, Jr., Syracuse University.

#### **Presidential Address**

President Heinz Eulau of Stanford University presented his Presidential Address, "Skill Revolution and Consultative Commonwealth" at the Annual Meeting. It will be published in the REVIEW.

## APSA Undergraduate Education Improvement Program

The Association has been awarded nearly one-half million dollars by the National Science Foundation for a three-year program designed to bring about improvements in the undergraduate teaching of political science. A committee consisting of Vernon Van Dyke, Chairman, University of Iowa; Vincent Browne, Howard University; Martin Diamond, Northern Illinois University; Heinz Eulau, Stanford University; Betty Nesvold, San Diego State University; Jack Peltason, University of Illinois, Urbana; Ithiel Pool, M.I.T.; James Robinson, MacCalester College, and Stanley Rothman, Smith College, has been appointed to guide this Association project. The proposal listed as primary objectives the stimulation of interest, the generation of materials, and the dissemination of information helpful in upgrading political science instruction in a variety of institutional settings. More specifically, the Committee expects to give high priority to the introductory course(s), field experiences, and the application of educational technology to political science teaching.

Reports of the progress of the project and requests for assistance will be contained in the pages of *PS*.

### **1973 APSA Biographical Directory**

The sixth edition of the APSA BIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY will be published in December and copies may be ordered now for January 1973 delivery. The new DIRECTORY will include complete, up-to-date names and addresses of approximately 12,500 individual APSA members as well as biographical information on over 7,000 political scientists. The DIRECTORY will contain appendices classifying members by geographical location and fields of interest.

Prices for the sixth edition of the APSA Directory are: APSA members, hardback \$10.00, paperback \$7.50; non-members, hardback \$15.00, paperback \$12.50. An order form for the DIRECTORY is on page 576 of this issue.

# Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Programs

Under two programs, one sponsored by the Asia Foundation and one by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U. S. Department of State, forty visiting foreign scholars and advanced graduate students in the field of political science from twenty-six nations were provided travel grants to attend the 1972 Annual Meeting. The individuals and the nations represented are:

ASIA FOUNDATION TRAVEL GRANTEES	
Republic of China Shane Rong Lee	ۍ. East Texas State University
<b>Japan</b> Hideo Otake	University of Chicago