THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President:	N. S. Trudinger	Centre for Mathematical Analysis, The Australian National University, G.P.O. Box 4, Canberra, A.C.T. 2601, Australia
Secretary:	W. R. BLOOM	School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Murdoch University, Murdoch, W.A. 6150, Australia
Treasurer:	B. D. Jones	Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Qld. 4067, Australia
Membership subscriptions (for 1987)	Ordinary members: New ordinary members: Reciprocal members: Reduced rate members: Sustaining members: Institutional members:	A\$50 (or \$45 if paid before 31 December 1986) A\$25 A\$25 A\$10 A\$100 A\$464 (this includes all publications)

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements, members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at the rate shown.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, notice of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's GAZETTE, JOURNAL Series A, Series B, BULLETIN, and THE MATHEMATICAL SCIENTIST, and orders for back numbers should also be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

Members of the Society receive copies of the GAZETTE free, and may subscribe to any of the Society's research publications, the JOURNAL (Series A) for A\$23 per year, the JOURNAL (Series B) for A\$16 per year, the BULLETIN for A\$20 and THE MATHEMATICAL SCIENTIST for A\$10 per year. For reduced rate members the subscription rates are half those quoted.

OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

The JOURNAL SERIES B. This series contains papers on applied mathematics. It is published in volumes comprising four parts, starting with Volume XIX Part 1, 1975. Four parts will be published in 1987, the price to non-members is A\$102 (US\$85.00) for 1987. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor, Professor E. O TUCK, Department of Applied Mathematics, University of Adelaide, Adelaide, S. A. 5001, Australia.

The BULLETIN of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. It aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The price to non-members is A\$155.00 (US\$128.00) for 1987. Each paper for publication should include an abstract and a 1980 Mathematics Subject Classification. Three copies of the typescript should be sent to the Editor, Dr S. OATES-WILLIAMS, Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Queensland 4067, Australia.

THE MATHEMATICAL SCIENTIST (CSIRO/Australian Mathematical Society) began publication in 1976. It publishes papers of general interest and papers of interest to scientists involved in application of mathematics. One volume of two numbers will be published in 1987. The price to non-members is A\$16.00 (US\$13.00) for 1987. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor, Professor B. C. RENNIE, Mathematics Department, James Cook University, Post Office James Cook, Queensland 4811, Australia.

Editor of the Journal, Series A

Associate Editors

T. E. Hall, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168.

C. J. Ash—logic, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

T. C. Brown—probability and statistics, Department of Statistics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

L. Caccetta—combinatorics, School of Mathematics and Computing, Western Australian Institute of Technology, South Bentley, W.A. 6102

H. Lausch—groups, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

R. Lidl—algebra, Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Box 252C, G.P.O. Hobart, Tasmania 7001 J. H. Loxton—number theory, School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033

K. Mackenzie—differential geometry, Department of Mathematical Science, University of Durham, Durham, DH1 3LE, England

B. Mond—operations research programming, games,
Department of Pure Mathematics,
La Trobe University,
Bundoora, Victoria 3083

W. Moran—harmonic analysis,
Department of Pure Mathematics,
University of Adelaide,
G.P.O. Box 498,
Adelaide, S.A. 5001

J. F. Price—Fourier analysis, harmonic analysis, School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033

Assistant Editors

G. Virsik, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 R. T. Worley, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance for publication should be addressed to G. Virsik.

Copyright Statement

Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/-Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Qld. 4067, Australia. Serial-fee code: 0263-6115/86 \$A2.00 + 0.00.

A. J. Pryde—differential equations, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

J. H. Rubinstein—topology, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

R. H. Street—categories, School of Mathematics & Physics, Macquarie University, North Ryde, N.S.W. 2113

 R. O. Vyborny—abstract analysis, partial differential equations, complex functions in one variable,
 Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland,
 St. Lucia, Queensland 4067