No. 19 July 1996

# **Ecclesiastical Law Journal**

# Volume 4

# CONTENTS

Editorial	534
With an Eye towards 2000	536
A Happy Noise to Hear? Thomas Glyn Watkin	545
Famous English Canon Lawyers: IX. Stephen Lushington	556
Procurations and the English Church	566
The Seal of Confession and the Episcopal Church in the USA	580
Outrageous Behaviour Paul Barber	584
Book Reviews:  Medieval Ecclesiastical Studies by Franklin and Harper-Bill	588
Reusing Old Graves by Davies and Shaw	590
Canon Law in Late Medieval England by Brian Ferme	592
Confirmation, Sacrament of Grace by James Behrens	593
Practical Stone Masonry by Hill and David	596
Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas by Charles Mynors	596
The Common Legal Past of Europe by M. Bellomo	597
Medieval Canon Law by J. A. Brundage	597
Synod News:	
The Governing Body of the Church in Wales: Recent Legislation	600
General Synod of the Church of Ireland 1996	603
Recent Ecclesiastical Cases	604
Letters to the Editor	609
Working Parties	611

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board General enquiries and articles submitted for publication should be addressed to. The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common, London SE21 7EU (Tel. 0181 693 3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J. D. C. Harte Esq. Book Review Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21-24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RU (Tel. 0191-222-7614; Fax 0191-212-0064).

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: T. J. Briden Esq. Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 8 Stone Buildings, Lincoln's Inn. London WC2A 3TA (Tel. 0171 831 9392).

### ISSN 0956-618X

### Items in this issue should be cited 4 Ecc. LJ

Inquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to: Ecclesiastical Law Society, e/o I The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SWIP 3JT (Tel. 0171 222 5381). Inquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Messrs Wm W Gaunt and Sons Inc, Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Mackintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Walton Street, Oxford

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society 1993-1996

## ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

### **Patrons**

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury
The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

### **Vice-Patrons**

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales
The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh
The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

### President

The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Chichester (to 1997)

### Elective Officers (to 1997)

CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson, O.B.E.†
VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Bishop of Stafford†
SECRETARY: Peter Beesley, Esq.†
DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens, Esq.†
TREASURER: The Revd John Rees†

# Executive Officer The Revd Dr Stephen Pix†

### **General Committee**

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: The Revd Canon Peter Boulton (to 1997)

Brian Hanson, Esq. (to 1997) David Harte, Esq. (to 1997) The Revd and Worshipful

Chancellor Rupert Bursell, Q.C.† (to 1998)

David Cheetham, Esq. (to 1998)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman\*† (to 1998)

Jonathan Cryer, Esq. (to 1998)

Mark Hill, Esq. (to 1998)

Raymond Hemingray, Esq. (to 1999)

John Holden, Esq. (to 1999)

The Revd John Masding (to 1999)

Charles Mynors, Esq. (to 1999)

CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 1998)

The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby (to 1999)

† Member of Executive Committee

\* Chairman of the Editorial Committee