Editor's Note

With a combination of satisfaction, and relief, I announce that as of July 1, 2007, the new editor of *Political Analysis* is Christopher Zorn. Chris, who is currently at the University of South Carolina, will move in 2008 to Pennsylvania State University. To avoid discontinuity, Chris is running the journal from the start of his term from the Penn State address. Authors submitting manuscripts and reviewers submitting reviews should send their material to politicalanalysis@la.psu.edu, as per the directions at the *Political Analysis* Web site.

Although I will continue to handle the final processing of manuscripts that were accepted as of June 30, 2007, Chris now is in charge of all new manuscripts plus those in the evaluation system at the time of the transition. The next issue will be my last issue: volume 15, issue 4, Autumn 2007. Most (if not all) of 16(1) will be filled by articles that I have accepted.

I hope that Chris enjoys this job as much as I have. I will not miss the worry about meeting deadlines, the coaxing of authors and reviewers, or having to make the tough calls that sometimes mean turning down good papers. But I enjoyed working with the *Political Analysis* community of readers, authors, and reviewers. I got a good start from my predecessor, Nathaniel (Neal) Beck. I hope that people will think that I have maintained the high standard of quality to which Neal drove the journal during his 4 years as editor.

I have incurred many debts during my 4 years as editor. I am grateful for the support and trust of the various officers of the Society for Political Methodology, in particular recent presidents Simon Jackman and Janet Box-Steffensmeier. I also appreciate the support of the American Political Science Association (APSA) that supports our pioneering model and our relationship to the APSA methodology section. I appreciate the support from Oxford University Press, including editors Martin Green, Sushmita Gupta, and Julia Jeans. Special thanks go to Oxford's crack production team, especially Caitlyn Haase.

At Columbia University, I received the support of Peter Bearman, director of the Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy, and the three department chairs during my term as editor: Bob Shapiro, Andy Nathan, and John Huber. Considerable help was provided by current and past graduate students (not all from Columbia) who served as interns for the journal: Jamie Patrick Chandler, Tse-hsin Chen, Jeronimo Cortina, Brian Fogarty, Seung Jin Jang, Jason Kelly, Georgia Kernell, Elixabeth Rigby, Kaori Shoji, Melanie Springer, and Chen-Hua Yu. Very special thanks are due to the three editorial assistants whose job it was to keep the journal running on time: in chronological order, Joseph Bafumi, John Kastellec, and Alexander Wu.

My job would not have been possible without the very special support, advice, and counsel of the three associate editors who all served with me over the past 4 years: Suzanna De Boef, Jeff Gill, and John Londregan. When help was needed in evaluating manuscripts, especially the most challenging cases, they offered their timely wisdom. Without their contributions, the journal would surely have gone off track. Their imprint on *Political Analysis* over the past 4 years has been immense and I am very grateful.

© The Author 2007. Published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the Society for Political Methodology. All rights reserved. For Permissions, please email: journals.permissions@oxfordjournals.org

Lastly, I want to thank the many authors and the reviewers. I am pleased that so many authors consider *Political Analysis* as the outlet for their work. I appreciate also that authors would tolerate my frequent demands for revision. I salute the reviewers for the remarkable time and attention they put into their work. I apologize to some valuable reviewers for exploiting them as often as I did, but it was for the benefit of the journal. In the final analysis, it is the authors and the reviewers who determine the quality of a journal.

Robert S. Erikson

editor-in-chief, Political Analysis
Professor of Political Science
Columbia University
New York, NY 10027