COMMISSION 43: PLASMAS AND MAGNETOHYDRODYNAMICS IN ASTROPHYSICS (PLASMAS ET MAGNÉTO-HYDRODYNAMIQUE EN ASTROPHYSIQUE)

Report of Meeting, 24 August 1970

PRESIDENT: Leverett Davis, Jr. SECRETARY: J. R. Jokipii.

Business Meeting

It was proposed by the President and the Organizing Committee that R. Lüst and R. J. Tayler be nominated as future President and Vice-President, respectively, of Commission 43, and that the Organizing Committee consist of Leverett Davis, Jr., S. A. Kaplan and B. P. Lehnert. This was approved.

The draft report of the commission was approved.

The question of bylaws for Commission 43 was briefly discussed. It was suggested that the method of selection of officers and organizing committee was a matter to be covered by by-laws. Perhaps the list of prospective officers and Organizing Committee could be circulated to the membership before selection.

A number of joint discussions, specifically with Commissions 10, 34, 35, and 43, were proposed for the next meeting.

It was urged that the stringent length restrictions on Commission Reports be relaxed.

Scientific Meeting

The following short papers were presented:

L. Mestel: 'Review of Recent Work on Stellar and Solar Interiors'.

Friedrich Meyer: 'Solar Atmosphere'.

A. B. Severny: 'Stellar Magnetic Fields; New Measurements'.

K. Runcorn: 'Planetary Dynamo Mechanisms'.

J. Wilcox: 'Solar Rotation'.

D. Smith: 'Radiation from Collisionless Shocks'.