#### COMMISSION No. 38

#### EXCHANGE OF ASTRONOMERS (ECHANGE DES ASTRONOMES)

Chairman: Edith A. Muller (President). Secretary: Kam-Ching Leung.

1. The Commission agreed the following proposals for 1988-91.

### 1.1 Proposals for Officers

President:

Professor Sir Francis Graham-Smith (UK)

Vice President: Professor Jorge Sahade (Argentina)

# 1.2 Organising Committee

A.A. Boyarchuk
A. Florsch
H. Jørgensen
Y. Kozai
K.Ch. Leung
(USSR)
(France
(Denmark)
(Japan)
(USA)

E.A. Müller (Switzerland), ex. off.

G. Swarup (India) Wang Shou Gua (P.R. China)

## 1.3 Ordinary Membership

(Iraq) A.A. Al Sabti M.K. Aly (Eqypt) B. Caccin (Italy) H. Haupt (Austria) D. MacRae (Canada) M. Marik (Hungary) I1-Seong Nha (Rep.Korea) S. Ninkovic (Yugoslavia) S. Okove (Nigeria) Paul M. Routley (USA) G. Ruben (DRG) C.R. Tolbert (USA) E. van den Heuvel (Netherlands) F. Bradshaw Wood (USA) Shu-Hua Ye (China)

#### 1.4 Consultant

S. Ruither (UNESCO)

#### 2. Guidelines

It was agreed to continue on the same principles, and to ask for the Guidelines to appear every year in the January issue of the IAU Bulletin. Minor additions and clarifications have been incorporated in the Application Procedure, which is printed below.

## 3. Joint Session of Commissions 5 and 46 on Developing Countries (Aug 9)

The President will attend this meeting as Observer.

F. Graham-Smith President October 1988