BULLETIN

OF THE

AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Volume 72, Number 2 October, 2005

The Australian Mathematical Publishing Assoc. Inc.
Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia
Printed in Australia by Pirion Printing
Print Post approved - PP229219/00095

ISSN 0004-9727

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: M.G. Cowling Department of Pure Mathematics,

The University of New South Wales,

Sydney NSW 2052, Australia.

Secretary: E.J. Billington Department of Mathematics,

The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.

Treasurer: A. Howe Department of Mathematics,

The Australian National University, Canberra ACT 0200, Australia

Membership and correspondence.

Applications for membership, notices of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's BULLETIN, GAZETTE, and JOURNALS, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

The Bulletin.

The Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. Normally two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The BULLETIN is published for the Australian Mathematical Society by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc.

Editor: Alan S. Jones

Deputy Editor: Graeme A. Chandler

Department of Mathematics, The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.

ASSOCIATE EDITORS

Robert S. Anderssen B.D. Craven B.D. Jones M. Murray Brian A. Davey Owen D. Jones J.H. Rubinstein R. Bartnik Elizabeth J. Billington J.R. Giles G.I. Lehrer Jamie Simpson J.A. Hempel K.L. McAvaney G. Cairns Brailey Sims J. Clark B.D. Hughes A.G.R. McIntosh Ross Street G.L. Cohen G. Ivanov Terry Mills R.P. Sullivan B.R.F. Jefferies John Cossey Sidney A. Morris H.B. Thompson

N.S. Trudinger A.J. van der Poorten

©Copyright Statement Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., School of Mathematical Sciences, ANU, Canberra ACT 0200 Australia. Serial–fee code: 0004-9727/05 \$A2.00 + 0.00.