

THE ANZIAM JOURNAL

(The Australian & New Zealand Industrial and Applied Mathematics Journal)

> Editor: Charles E. M. Pearce Volume 50 • Issue 3 • January 2009

> > MBRIDGE ERSITY PRESS

Editorial Office and Address

 Editor-in-Chief
 C. E. M. PEARCE, charles.pearce@adelaide.edu.au

 Executive Editor
 E. HUNT, emma.hunt@optusnet.com.au

 Technical Editor
 J. M. WHYTE, jason.whyte@adelaide.edu.au

 School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Adelaide, SA 5005, Australia.

Associate Editors

Hobart TAS 7001 Larry.Forbes@utas.edu.au

J. M. HILL Department of Mathematics The University of Wollongong PO Box 1144 Wollongong NSW 2500 i.hill@uow.edu.au

G. C. HOCKING Department of Mathematics and Statistics Murdoch University Murdoch WA 6150 G.Hocking@murdoch.edu.au

E. HUNT School of Economics & School of Mathematical Sciences The University of Adelaide Adelaide SA 5005 emma.hunt@optusnet.com.au

C. A. HURST Department of Physics and Mathematical Physics The University of Adelaide SA 5005 ahurst@physics.adelaide.edu.au

V. JEYAKUMAR School of Mathematics University of New South Wales Sydney NSW 2052 jeya@maths.unsw.edu.au

P. E. KLOEDEN
Fachbereich Mathematik
Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität
D-60054 Frankfurt am Main Germany
kloeden@math.uni-frankfurt.de

S. W. MCCUE School of Mathematical Sciences Queensland University of Technology GPO Box 2434 Brisbane QLD 4001 scott.mccue@qut.edu.au

R. MCKIBBIN Institute of Information and Mathematical Sciences Massey University Albany, Auckland Private Bag 102 904 North Shore Mail Centre New Zealand R.McKibbin@massey.ac.nz

M. I. NELSON School of Mathematics and Applied Statistics University of Wollongong Northfields Ave Wollongong NSW 2522 mnelson@uow.edu.au

D. RALPH The Judge Institute of Management Studies Cambridge University Trumpington St Cambridge CB2 1AG England dr241@cam.ac.uk

H. M. SRIVASTAVA Department of Mathematics and Statistics University of Victoria Victoria B.C. V8W 3P4 Canada hmsri@uvvm.uvic.ca

K. L. TEO
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Curtin University of Technology
GPO Box U 1987, Perth
WA 6845
K.L.Teo@curtin.edu.au

A. TORDESILLAS Department of Mathematics The University of Melbourne VIC 3010 A.Tordesillas@ms.unimelb.edu.au

J.-M. VANDEN-BROECK Department of Mathematics University College London Gower Street London WC1E 6BT, England j.vanden-broeck@ucl.ac.uk

G. C. WAKE Institute of Information and Mathematical Sciences Massey University Albany, Auckland Private Bag 102 904 North Shore Mail Centre New Zealand g.c.wake@massey.ac.nz

G. J. WEIR Applied Mathematics Centre Industrial Research Ltd PO Box 31310 Lower Hutt, New Zealand g.weir@irl.cri.nz

S.-P. ZHU School of Mathematics and Applied Statistics University of Wollongong Northfields Ave Wollongong NSW 2522 songping_zhu@uow.edu.au

A. P. BASSOM School of Mathematics and Statistics (M019) The University of Western Australia Crawley WA 6009 bassom@maths.uwa.edu.au

J. BORWEIN School of Mathematical & Physical Sciences University of Newcastle Callaghan NSW 2308 Jonathan.Borwein@newcastle.edu.au

A. J. BRACKEN Department of Mathematics The University of Queensland St. Lucia QLD 4072 ajb@maths.uq.edu.au

P. BROADBRIDGE Australian Mathematical Sciences Institue 111 Barry Street VIC 3010 phil@amsi.org.au

R. S. BURACHIK School of Mathematics & Statistics University of South Australia Mawson Lakes Campus Mawson Lakes SA 5095 Regina.Burachik@unisa.edu.au

B. D. CRAVEN Department of Mathematics The University of Melbourne VIC 3010 craven@ms.unimelb.edu.au

R. L. DEWAR Department of Theoretical Physics, Bldg. 59 Research School of Physical Sciences & Engineering The Australian National University Canberra A.C.T. 0200 robert.dewar@anu.edu.au

A. C. EBERHARD Department of Mathematics Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology GPO Box 2476V Melbourne VIC 3001 andrew.eberhard@ems.rmit.edu.au

A. FILINKOV School of Mathematical Sciences The University of Adelaide Adelaide SA 5005 alexei.filinkov@adelaide.edu.au

L. K. FORBES School of Mathematics & Physics The University of Tasmania