ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians

of Great Britain

Volume 33: 1990

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion is presented annually to authors of outstanding contributions to the literature of architectural history. Recipients of the award have been:

1959: H. M. Colvin	1975: Dr David Watkin
1960: Sir John Summerson	1976: Professor Anthony Blunt
1961: DR KERRY DOWNES	1977: Andrew Saint
1962: John Fleming	1978: Peter Smith
1963: MISS DOROTHY STROUD	1979: Ted Ruddock
1964: Dr F. H. W. Sheppard	1980: Dr Allan Braham
1965: DR H. M. & MRS JOAN TAYLOR	1981: HOWARD COLVIN
1966: Sir Nikolaus Pevsner	1982: Peter Thornton
1967: Dr Mark Girouard	1983: Dr Maurice Craig
1968: Christopher Hussey	1984: William Curtis
1969: PROFESSOR PETER COLLINS	1985: JILL LEVER
1970: Dr A. H. Gomme &	1986: David Brownlee
D. M. WALKER	1987: Dr John Harvey
1971: John Harris	1988: Roger Stalley
1972: HERMIONE HOBHOUSE	1989: Andrew Saint
1973: DR MARK GIROUARD	

1974: Dr J. Mordaunt Crook & M. H. Port

The Society's Essay Medal is presented annually to the winner of the Society's essay medal competition. The regulations are available from the Honorary Secretary. Recipients of the medal have been:

1982: GORDON HIGGOTT
1983: DR NEIL JACKSON
1984: JOSEPH SHARPLES
1985: No award was made
1986: LAURA JACOBUS
1987: TIM MOWL
1988: GILES WORSLEY
1989: No award was made

ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians

of Great Britain

Volume <u>3</u>3: 1990

SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

Founded 1956: incorporated 1964

The Society exists to encourage an interest in the history of architecture, to provide opportunities for the exchange and discussion of ideas related to this subject and to publish, in its journal, Architectural History, significant source material and the results of original research

OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 1989-90

President: John Newman MA FSA

Past President: Kerry Downes PHD FSA

Chairman: Andor Gomme ма рнд FSA

Honorary Secretary: Ruth Harman BA

Honorary Treasurer: Frank Kelsall MA FSA

Executive Committee

Rebecca Barker ваксн Esther Caplin ма Maurice Howard ма рнд Deborah Howard ма рнд FSA Margaret Richardson BA Charles Saumarez Smith MA David Yeomans BSC(ENG)PHD

Bankers: Barclays Bank plc, University Branch, 137 Oxford Road, Manchester MI 7EA

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Allan Braham PHD Howard Colvin CBE FBA HON FRIBA J. Mordaunt Crook DPHIL FSA FBA Kerry Downes PHD FSA John Harris FSA HON FRIBA Peter Willis PHD ARIBA FSA

HONORARY EDITOR

Peter Draper MA FSA

Applications for membership and all correspondence concerning the Society should be addressed to: Ruth Harman, 55 Blakeney Road, Sheffield 510 IFD

Correspondence concerning the Society's publications should be addressed to: Peter Draper, Department of History of Art, Birkbeck College, Malet Street, London WCIE 7HX

Books for review in the Society's Newsletter should be sent to:

Christopher Wakeling, Department of Adult Education, University of Keele, Keele, Staffordshire, ST5 5BG

Copyright © 1990 ISSN: 0066–622x

Printed by W. S. Maney and Son Ltd, Hudson Road, Leeds LS9 7DL

CONTENTS

THE TEMPIETTO AND THE ROOTS OF COINCIDENCE	
by Mark Wilson Jones	Ι
LULWORTH CASTLE IN SEVENTEENTH CENTURY	
by Jean Manco, David Greenhalf and Mark Girouard	29
NICHOLAS HAWKSMOOR: A PIONEER NEO-PALLADIAN?	
by Giles Worsley	60
THE DESIGN OF A HOUSE FOR A MERCHANT, 1724	
by John Bold	75
THE ARCHITECTURE OF THE WALL: ASTYLISM IN THE ARCHITECTURE OF LORD BURLINGTON	
by Cinzia Sicca	83
'AGAINST THE TIME IN WHICH THE FABRIC AND USE OF GUNPOWDER SHALL BE FORGOTTEN': ENMORE CASTLE, ITS ORIGINS AND ITS ARCHITECT	
by Tim Mowl	102
'A GALLERY WORTHY OF THE BRITISH PEOPLE': JAMES PENNETHORNE'S DESIGNS FOR THE NATIONAL GALLERY, 1845–67	
by Geoffrey Tyack	I 20
EARL DE LA WARR AND THE COMPETITION FOR THE BEXHILL PAVILION, 1933–34 by Russell Stevens and Peter Willis	135
METAL FRAME HOUSES OF THE MODERN MOVEMENT IN LOS ANGELES — PART II by Neil Jackson	167
	/
BANHAM AND OTHERNESS: REYNER BANHAM AND HIS QUEST FOR AN ARCHITECTURE AUTRE	
by Nigel Whiteley	188

The Society acknowledges with gratitude a grant from English Heritage for the article by Jean Manco, David Greenhalf and Mark Girouard and from the RIBA for the article by Russell Stevens and Peter Willis