which was approved unanimously by the Council:

The APSA Council deplores the apartheid politics of the government of South Africa, and requests the Board of Trustees of the Trust and Development Fund as a matter of urgency to review the investment policies of our currently held mutual funds.

In light of the long-standing APSA policy concerning the Sullivan Principles we recommend that this review be carried forward with an eye towards moving out of any fund that includes in its portfolio companies that do not adhere to these Principles, or firms that do business directly with the government of South Africa. We urge the Board to seek out alternative high-performance funds that meet these criteria.

Small Grant Program

In other action the Council increased the annual budget of the Small Grant Program to \$12,000 from \$10,000 and added an additional representative from a small college to the Research Support Committee which distributes the grants. President-elect Aaron Wildavsky announced that his appointee would be Huev Perry of Southern University.

Under the program grants up to \$1,500 are awarded to APSA members from non-Ph.D.-granting institutions as well as to those not affiliated with an academic institution for the purpose of assisting research. Fundable activities include such activities as travel to archives or to conduct interviews, purchase of datasets, and administration and coding of interviews. In 1985, the first year of the program, a total of ten grants were made. (See *PS*, Summer 1985, pp. 623-624.)

Editor's Note: See the Appendix of this issue of PS for complete Council minutes.

Samuel Huntington Elected President-Elect

Samuel P. Huntington, Eaton Professor of the Science of Government and director of the Center for International Affairs

at Harvard University, has been elected to serve as president-elect of APSA for 1985-86 and will assume the office of president in 1986-87.

Huntington was elected by acclamation at the Annual Business Meeting on August 31 in New Orleans along with the other nominees selected by the Nominating Committee for APSA offices and Council positions.

Theodore J. Lowi, Cornell University, Dale Rogers Marshall, University of California, Davis, and Donald R. Matthews, University of Washington, were elected vice-presidents of APSA for 1985-86. Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was elected secretary for 1985-86 and Helen Ingram, University of Arizona, was elected treasurer for the two-year term, 1985-87.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a two-year term (1985-87) are: John W. Kingdon, University of Michigan; Stephen D. Krasner, Stanford University; Paula D. McClain, Arizona State University; Karen O'Connor, Emory University; Carole Pateman, University of Sydney; G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester; Kenneth Shepsle, Washington University; and Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas.

Nominating Committee Seeks Suggestions

The Nominating Committee, headed by Nelson W. Polsby of the University of California, Berkeley, seeks suggestions for nominees to APSA offices.

The Committee will make nominations for eight Council positions, as well as the offices of secretary, vice presidents (three positions) and president-elect.

The members of the nominating committee are:

James A. Caporaso, Graduate School of International Studies, University of Denver, Denver, CO 80209.

Charles Hamilton, Department of Political Science, Columbia University, 420 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10027.