Nominations Accepted for the 2020 APSA Awards

ubmit your nominations for the APSA dissertation, book, paper and article, and career awards, which will be presented at the 2020 APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA. The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 14, 2020. For more information, visit www.apsanet.org/awards. The 2020 awards are listed below.

CAREER AWARDS

Bestowed for significant achievements related to political science.

APSA Distinguished Award for Civic and Community Engagement

To honor significant civic or community engagement activity by a political scientist, alone or in collaboration with others, which explicitly merges knowledge and practice and goes beyond research to have an impact outside of the profession or the academy.

APSA Distinguished Teaching Award

To honor outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions. The award recognizes contributions that have made a significant impact on the manner in which political science is taught.

Robert A. Dahl Award

Awarded annually to an untenured scholar who has produced scholarship of the highest quality on the subject of democracy. Non-ladder faculty members and junior tenure-track faculty at universities and colleges are eligible for the award, as are scholars at nonprofit organizations and think tanks, and independent scholars.

John Gaus Distinguished Award and Lectureship

Honors a lifetime of exemplary scholarship in political science and public administration.

Frank J. Goodnow Award

Recognizes distinguished service to the profession and to APSA, not necessarily a career of scholarship. This service may be by individuals, groups, or public and private organizations who have played

a role in the development of the political science profession and the building of the association.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

In recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

James Madison Award

Recognizes an American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.

Carey McWilliams Award

Recognizes a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Barbara Sinclair Lecture Award

Recognizes a scholar of the US Congress and legislative politics. The recipient delivers the titular lecture at American University during the orientation of the Congressional Fellowship Program.

DISSERTATION AWARDS

Departments are invited to submit dissertations that have been completed in the past two academic years.

Gabriel A. Almond Award

In the field of comparative politics.

William Anderson Award

In the field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state and local politics.

Edward S. Corwin Award

In the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award

In the field of policy studies.

E.E. Schattschneider Award

In the field of American government.

Kenneth Sherrill Prize

For the best doctoral dissertation proposal for an empirical study of LGBT topics in political science.

Leo Strauss Award

In the field of political philosophy.

Merze Tate Award

In the field of international relations, law, and politics.

Leonard D. White

In the field of public administration.

BOOK AWARDS

Books published in 2019 may be nominated by individuals or publishers.

Ralph J. Bunche Award

For the best scholarly work in political science that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism.

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

For the best political science publication in the field of US national policy.

Victoria Schuck Award

For the best book published on women and politics.

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award

For the best book published in the United States in the field of government, politics, or international affairs.

PAPER AND ARTICLE AWARDS

Papers and articles published in 2019 may be nominated by individuals or publishers.

Franklin L. Burdette/Pi Sigma Alpha Award

For the best paper presented at the previous APSA Annual Meeting.

Heinz Eulau Awards

For the best articles published in the *APSR* and *Perspectives on Politics* during the previous year.