Ralph Bunche Program Suspended for Summer

The Ralph Bunche Summer Institute was not held this summer. This program, established nine years ago, selects 10–25 African-American rising seniors in a nation-wide competition to take two graduate-level courses and to be introduced to the life of scholar-ship.

The Institute has been hosted by two consortia. For the first four years, it was held in Baton Rouge under the leadership of Jewel Prestage of Southern University and Peter Zwick of Louisiana State University. The Institute subsequently moved to Atlanta, Georgia, where five schools, Spelman College, Emory University, Georgia State University, Morehouse College, and Clark Atlanta University, cooperated in creating the program, led by Lois Moreland and Jeanne Meadows, both of Spelman.

Funding for the Institute has come from a variety of direct and indirect sources. The Ford Foundation, the Coca-Cola Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Education have provided major support. In addition, Emory University, Louisiana State University, Georgia State University, Spelman College, and APSA have contributed significant in-kind assistance. All told, over \$600,000 in cash and an approximate \$200,000 in in-kind gifts have been raised for this program.

While the Institute is short of funds this year, the Coca-Cola Foundation is anticipating contributing next year and the Atlanta Consortium will likely host the program for the summer of 1995. APSA is moving to find new sources of support for the Institute.

The leaders and teachers of the Atlanta Summer Institute will be honored at the nightcap reception of the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession at APSA's Annual Meeting in New York on Friday, September 2, at 10:00 p.m. The honorees include

Lois B. Moreland Jeanne T. Meadows Marilyn Davis Zadie Long Alan Abramowitz Courtney Brown Micheal Giles George Jones Harvey Klehr Eleanor Main Scott Taylor Andrea Simpson Melanie Buckner C.T. Cummings Naomi Lynn William Thomas Tobe Johnson William Boone

APSA Establishes the Ithiel de Sola Pool Lectureship

The Association has received a gift to endow a lecture as a memorial to Ithiel de Sola Pool. The Political Communications Organized Section supported establishing this award in recognition of Ithiel Pool, who died in 1984. The Council accepted the gift and approved an award:

The Ithiel de Sola Pool Lecture will be given every third year at the APSA Annual Meeting by a scholar selected to explore the implications of research on the issues of politics in a global society. Evoking the broad range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel de Sola Pool, the presentation may draw from among many fields, including political theory, political behavior, political communication, science and technology policy, and international affairs.

The award will convey a \$1,000 prize. A committee appointed by the APSA president in the year the lecture is given will select the award winner. The first Ithiel de Sola Pool Lecture will be given at the 1995 Annual Meeting in Chicago. The 1995 Pool Award Committee comprises Bernard C. Cohen, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Chair; Samuel Popkin, University of California, San Diego; and Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Ithiel Pool received a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1952. He held academic positions at Hobart College and Stanford University before joining the MIT faculty in 1953 where he was the first chair of the political science department and a founder of the Center for International Studies. He remained a leader of MIT's political science and international programs until his death in 1984.

"Ithiel Pool was one of the outstanding political scientists of our time and a pioneer in the field of social and political communication. . . . What came to interest him most were the ways in which the world has been changing and the methods by which these changes could be identified and in part measured." Thus, Karl Deutsch characterized Ithiel Pool's scholarly achievements and interests in a memorial written for *PS* (fall 1984, pp. 841–2). Moreover, colleagues and students valued the courtesy, patience, and kindness he conveyed in his professional and personal relationships.

Jean Pool, in expressing appreciation for the wide range of subjects included in the award, noted that Ithiel Pool "...was always interested in interdisciplinary research, and being at MIT, the opportunity to work with mathematicians, engineers, and computer scientists was very present." She commented that a lectureship also reflected qualities attributed to him: "passion and reason" (David Bell) and as "original and surprising" (Nathan Lester). Ithiel de Sola Pool's papers are

in the archives at MIT, the Smithsonian Institution, and the University of Chicago. A bound, annotated bibliography by Lloyd Etheridge of his extensive scholarship is in the MIT library. Among his notable books are Communication in Political Development (1962), written with Gabriel Almond, Lucian Pye, Joseph La Palombara, and others; American Business and Public Policy (1963), written with Raymond Bauer and Lewis Dexter, which won the APSA's Woodrow Wilson Award in 1963; Candidates, Issues, and Strategies (1964), with Robert Abelson and Samuel Popkin; The Social Impact of the Telephone (1977), and a reader, Technologies of Freedom (1983).

The Charles E. Merriam Award Reinstated

A fund-raising drive to reinstate the Charles E. Merriam Award by assuring an endowment sufficient to support a biannual award has succeeded. This effort has been led by Gabriel A. Leiserson and David B. Truman, who formed the Merriam