6. COMMISSION DES TELEGRAMMES ASTRONOMIQUES

Report of Meeting, 17 August 1961

PRESIDENT: E. Buchar. SECRETARY: K. A. Thernöe.

Professor E. Buchar, President of the Commission opened the meeting by recalling that two of its members had died since the last meeting in 1958: Dr J. Bobone of the National Observatory in Cordoba, and Miss J. M. Vinter Hansen, Director of the Central Bureau for astronomical telegrams.

No interruption of the activities of the Central Bureau had been caused, however, through the death of Miss Vinter Hansen, as, thanks to arrangements made by Dr A. Reiz, Director of the University Observatory in Copenhagen, the direction of the Bureau was entrusted to Mr K. A. Thernöe, of the same institution. The Draft Report was approved; it was generally agreed that the services of the Bureau, which had so far proved satisfactory, should proceed along the same lines. However, information concerning artificial celestial bodies should be included, only when such objects would have a small daily motion.

The following were proposed as additional members of the Commission:

Professor D. Ya. Martynov, Director of the Sternberg Astronomical Institute, of Moscow University.

Mr K. A. Thernöe, University Observatory, Copenhagen, the latter being proposed as Director of the Central Bureau.

For the following period of six years the following were proposed: as President: Dr A. R. Hogg, Mount Stromlo Observatory; as Vice-President: Dr F. L. Whipple, Director of the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.

The discussion dealt mainly with the economic status of the Central Bureau, and the following resolution was submitted to the Executive Committee for consideration by the Finance Committee.

In view of the increasing costs of the valuable service provided by the Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams, Commission 6 recommends that the subsidy be increased from \$1588 to \$2000 for a three-year period, and that the Central Bureau charge a service fee to subscribers adequate to cover the costs of the service.

[This resolution was approved, and incorporated in the report of the Finance Committee.]