gressional Quarterly Fellow. The Fellowship is awarded annually to an outstanding journalist.

Before joining the *California* Journal in early 1995, Ms. Lazarovici was with L.A. Weekly, covering state and city politics. She received her Bachelor's degree in political science and history from the University of California, Los Angeles. A member of Phi Beta Kappa, Ms. Lazarovici graduated magna cum laude in 1989.

Funding for the Congressional Quarterly Fellow is generously provided by Congressional Quarterly Inc., publishers of a family of resources that inform the public about Congress, national issues and the American political process. Congressional Quarterly was founded in 1945 by Nelson Poynter.

Frederick Carl Walton: William A. Steiger Congressional Fellow

Frederick Carl Walton, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Georgia, is the recipient of the 1995–96 William A. Steiger Congressional Fellowship, awarded annually to an outstanding political scientist or journalist.

Walton joined the faculty of the University of Georgia, Athens, in September 1994. He earned his Bachelor's degree (magna cum laude) from Morris Brown College in 1984 and his Master's degree from Purdue University in 1990. The recipient of a doctoral fellowship from Purdue, Dr. Walton received his Ph.D. from that institution in 1994.

The William A. Steiger Fellowship honors the memory of William A. Steiger, a Republican who represented the Sixth District of Wisconsin from 1966 until his untimely death in 1978. During his service in Congress, Representative Steiger was dedicated to the Congressional Fellowship Program and was an active member of its advisory committee. The Fellowship is awarded annually to a political scientist or journalist who best exemplifies Representative Steiger's values and interests.

Fundraising for the William A. Steiger Congressional Fellowship is under the direction of the William A. Steiger Congressional Fellowship Development Committee, which seeks to raise an endowment to support the Fellowship in perpetuity. The Fellowship fund receives contributions annually from former Congressional Fellows and other friends of the Congressional Fellowship Program.

All designated fellowships are awarded through national competition.

1995 Ralph Bunche Summer Institute

Fourteen exceptional juniors who have demonstrated potential in the field of political science participated in the ninth annual APSA Summer Institute in Political Science for African American Students. The Summer Institute is in honor of Ralph Bunche, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and former APSA President.

The Institute held June 12-July 14 in Atlanta, Georgia, was conducted by a consortium consisting of Spelman College, Emory University, Morehouse College, Georgia State University, and Clark Atlanta University. The director of the 1995 Institute was Jeanne T. Meadows of Spelman College. Teaching classes at the Institute were Meadows and Alan Abramowitz of Emory University. Other members of the Atlanta Consortium include William Boone of Clark Atlanta University, C.T. Cummings and William Thomas of Georgia State University, Tobe Johnson of Morehouse College, Harvey Klehr and Eleanor Main of Emory University, and Lois B. Moreland of Spelman College.

Summer Institute Participants

Laurent Alfred, Harvard University

Dominique Apollon, University of Virginia

Stacey Banfield, Montclair State University

Derek Collier, Wittenberg University

Edward Fergus, Beloit College

Shamicka Fulson, East Central University

Stephanie Futrell, University of Arkansas

Holly Hopkins, North Carolina A&T State University

Tokunbo Okediji, University of Oklahoma

Justin Okezie, Rutgers University

Tresa Rice, John Carroll University

Juandria Rouser, Mississippi Valley State University

LeTashia White, Mississippi Valley State University

Aretha Williams, Haverford College

The Institute is generously supported by the Coca-Cola Foundation, the Georgia State University Foundation, and the Graduate School of Emory University in addition to the American Political Science Association.

1995 Research Support Grants Announced

The APSA Research Support Committee recently made awards totaling \$15,000 under APSA's program to support research by political scientists outside of Ph.D.granting research institutions. **APSA Research Support Awards** are merit based. Projects supported this year include studies of the Chinese reform movement, the electoral bases of public expenditures in Guatemala, the politics of breast cancer, and church and state in five democracies. The Committee funded 12 proposals out of the 52 projects submitted this year.

APSA Research Grant awards are supported entirely by Association general revenues—that is by member dues—as one of the many facets of the Association's commitment to assuring scholarly opportunities for all. Applicants must be APSA members, and either a faculty member at a college or university that does not award a Ph.D. in political science, or an independent scholar not affiliated with an academic institution.

The Committee reported to the

September 1995