THE History of Economics Society BULLETIN

Volume VII, Issue 2

WINTER 1986



The HES Bulletin is published semiannually by
The History of Economics Society at Vanderbilt University

© Copyright 1986

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffee	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Friedrich A. von Havek	1984

Officers of The History of Economics Society

1985-1986

A. W. Coats	President	Executive Committee	
Abraham Hirsch	President-Elect	Todd Lowery	'86
Neil de Marchi	Vice-President	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John K, Whitaker	Past President	Y. S. Brenner	'88
Mark Perlman	Past President	Malcolm Rutherford	'88
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1984-1985		
Mark Perlman	President	Executive Committee	
A.W. Coats	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John Henderson	Vice President	Todd Lowry	'86
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
John K. Whitaker	Past President		
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1983-1984		
John K. Whitaker	President	Executive Committee	
Mark Perlman	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	'86
Samuel Hollander	Vice-President	Todd Lowry	'86
Warren Samuels	Past President	A.W. Coats	'85
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1982-1983		
Martin Bronfenbrenner	1982-1983 President	Executive Committee	
Martin Bronfenbrenner John K. Whitaker		Executive Committee Donald Walker	'83
	President		'83 '83
John K. Whitaker	President President-Elect	Donald Walker	

All Communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the HES

should be addressed to:

Laurence S. Moss

William O. Thweatt, Editor

HES Bulletin

Secretary-Treasurer

Box 206-B, Vanderbilt University

Nashville, TN 37235

All submissions should be typed and double-spaced.

Requests for institutional subscriptions, membership information as well as notices of address changes should be addressed to:

Laurence S. Moss, Secretary-Treasurer

History of Economics Society, Economics Division

Babson College

Babson Park (Wellesley) Massachusettes 02157-0901

CONTENTS

From the Editor5
"The Political Balloon; Or, The Fall of East India Stock," by Ruth R. Rogers, Curator, Kress Library of Business and Fianance
"Perceptions of our Discipline: Three Magisterial Treatments of the Evolution of Economic Thought," Presidential Address to HES, May, 1985 by Mark Perlman
Contributed Papers:
"Reflections on the Absolutist and Relativist Approaches to the History of Economics," by Lewis E. Hill
"Benjamin Jowett's Connections With Political Economy," by Warren Samuels
"Speculations on the Transmutation of an Idea," by Michael Perelman
"Feet of Clay: Chapter I of Capital," by Royall Brandis52 - 55
"Jevon's Debt to Cairnes: An Unnoticed Review," by T. P. Foley and T. A. Boylan
"History of Thought: What For?" by Juergen Backhaus60 - 66
Preliminary Program HES Annual Meeting, New York City June 2-4, 1986
Notices 73 - 80