AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW

MARCH 1987 VOLUME 81 NUMBER 1

MANAGING EDITOR

Samuel C. Patterson

Department of Political Science Ohio State University, 112 Derby Hall Columbus, Ohio 43210-1373

BOOK REVIEW EDITOR

Robert H. Salisbury

Department of Political Science Washington University, Campus Box 1063 St. Louis, Missouri 63130

EDITORIAL BOARD

Suzanne Berger

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David W. Brady Rice University

Charles V. Hamilton

Columbia University

John R. Hibbing

University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Harold Jacobson
University of Michigan

Milton Lodge State University of New York at Stony Brook

> Susan C. Angel Assistant Editor

Michael K. Lane Copy Editor John M. Orbell University of Oregon

G. Bingham Powell, Jr. University of Rochester

Harvey Starr Indiana University

Dennis F. Thompson Harvard University

John C. Wahlke University of Arizona

Raymond Wolfinger University of California, Berkeley

Michael S. Bailey Valerie J. Martinez APSR Interns

Helen E. Hoelker Editorial Assistant

The American Political Science Review (ISSN-0003-0554) appears in March, June, September, and December of each year. It is published by the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036, and sent to all members. Dues: Regular Members with income: under \$20,000, \$40; \$20,000-\$29,999, \$50; \$30,000-39,999, \$65; \$40,000 and over, \$75; Student Members (limited to 5 years), \$15; Retired Members, \$20; Life Members, \$1,000;

Institutional Members, \$100. Dues allocated for a subscription to the APSR: \$10 for individual members, \$80 for institutional members. Changes of address sent to the Membership Secretary of the APSA. Postmaster: Please send notification regarding undelivered journals to address above. Second-class postage paid at Washington, D.C. and at additional mailing offices. Copyright © 1987 by The American Political Science Association.

AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW CONTENTS

Δ	RT	Γ	I FS

	Choosing Preferences by Constructing Institutions: A Cultural Theory of Preference Formation	
	Aaron Wildavsky	3
	What Moves Public Opinion? Benjamin I. Page, Robert Y. Shapiro & Glenn R. Dempsey	23
	Residential Mobility and Voter Turnout Peverill Squire, Raymond E. Wolfinger & David P. Glass	45
	Voting Outcomes in the 1984 Democratic Party Primaries and Caucuses T. Wayne Parent, Calvin C. Jillson & Ronald E. Weber	67
	The Institutional Foundations of Committee Power Kenneth A. Shepsle & Barry R. Weingast	
	Participation and Purpose in Committee Decision Making Richard L. Hall	105
	Institutional Structure and the Logic of Ongoing Collective Action Jonathan Bendor & Dilip Mookherjee	129
	Influences on Executive and Congressional Budgetary Priorities, 1955–1981 Mark S. Kamlet & David C. Mowery	
	Agendas and the Control of Political Outcomes Peter C. Ordeshook & Thomas Schwartz	
	Prisoners' Financial Dilemmas: A Consociational Future for Lebanon? Clement Henry Moore	201
C	ONTROVERSY	
	Modelling War and Peace Seif M. Hussein, Bruce Bueno de Mesquita & David Lalman	221

RESEARCH NOTE	
Recruitment Contrasts in a Divided Charismatic Movement Douglas Madsen & Peter G. Snow	233
BOOK REVIEWS	
Review Essays	245
American Politics	271
Comparative Politics	316
Political Economy	332

QUARTERLY JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION MARCH 1987 VOLUME 81 NUMBER 1

ii

AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

PRESIDENT:

Samuel P. Huntington

Harvard University

PRESIDENT-ELECT:

Kenneth N. Waltz

University of California, Berkeley

VICE PRESIDENTS:

Beverly Blair Cook

University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Charles O. Jones

University of Virginia

Lucian W. Pye

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

SECRETARY:

Paul Dawson

Oberlin College

TREASURER:

Helen Ingram

University of Arizona

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:

Thomas E. Mann

PROGRAM CHAIR:

Robert Jervis

Columbia University

MANAGING EDITOR, APSR:

Samuel C. Patterson

Ohio State University

COUNCIL, 1985-87:

John W. Kingdon

University of Michigan

Stephen D. Krasner

Stanford University

Paula D. McClain

Arizona State University

Karen O'Connor

Emory University

Carole Pateman

University of Sydney

G. Bingham Powell, Jr.

University of Rochester

Kenneth Shepsle

Harvard University

Nancy H. Zingale

College of St. Thomas

COUNCIL, 1986-88:

Robert H. Bates

Euke University

David W. Brady

Rice University

Demetrios Caraley

Barnard College, Columbia University

Francis W. Carney

University of California, Riverside

Margaret Karns

University of Dayton

David Morgan

University of Liverpool

Mitchell Rice

Louisiana State University

Robet M. Rosenzweig

Association of American Universities

APSA

announces the publication of

Political Science: The State of the Discipline

INGLEHART • GITHENS

KEOHANE

REISELBACH • SHALALA • STOKES

edited by

Ada W. Finifter

"a remarkable glimpse of a profession at work... An invaluable resource for any student or practitioner of current politics and policy-making in the U.S. — and indeed elsewhere in the world." Choice (February 1984)

19 Chapters by many of the country's leading political scientists reviewing the present state and future directions of research in the subfields of the discipline.

614 pages with a detailed index to authors cited.

Paper:

\$15.00* for APSA members

\$25.00 for non-members ISBN 0-915654-58-X

Cloth:

\$35.00

ISBN 0-915654-57-1

*This rate effective for classroom adoptions placed through bookstores.

(Please include \$2.00 to cover the costs of postage and handling)

Send your prepaid order to:

State of the Discipline

American Political Science Association 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

HANCOCK • MIGDAL • ASHER • KINDER