spend next year studying Chinese government from basic points in Formosa and Hong Kong. His research is being financed by the Ford Foundation.

Robert F. Wilcox, of the department of political science at San Diego State College, taught in the 1953 summer session at Michigan State College.

Charlotte Williams, of Middle Tennessee State College, has accepted a one-year appointment as visiting lecturer in political science at Vanderbilt University to teach courses in public law and jurisprudence.

Henry Williams has accepted a graduate research fellowship at Columbia Law School for 1953-54.

Harold Winkler has been reappointed assistant professor of political science at the University of California (Berkeley).

S. Joseph Wodka, graduate student at the University of Michigan, was a member of the teaching staff in the department of history and government at Central Michigan College of Education at Mt. Pleasant during the summer term

Francis D. Wormuth, professor of political science at the University of Utah, will be on leave during 1953-54 on a Ford Fellowship at Yale, observing relationships between the Law School and the social sciences in Yale's experimental program.

Paul Ylvisaker, of Swarthmore College, has been appointed staff director of the Inter-University Case Program, to succeed Harold Stein. The Program's headquarters were moved on July 1, 1953, from Washington to Swarthmore where Professor Ylvisaker will divide his time during the coming academic year between the teaching of political science and the case project.

Roland Young, of Northwestern University, was a visiting professor at Columbia University during the summer session.

Harold Zink, of the Ohio State University, was a visiting professor of political science at Duke University during the spring term.

## IN MEMORIAM

Emerson David Fite, professor emeritus of political science at Vassar College, died in Poughkeepsie on May 17, 1953, at the age of seventy-nine.

Professor Fite was born in Marion, Ohio, in 1874. He received the bachelor's degree from Yale in 1897, and the doctor's degree from Harvard in 1905. Before coming to Vassar in 1913, Professor Fite had held teaching positions at the Mt. Hermon School, Harvard University, and Yale. He was Vassar's first professor of political science and he remained at Vassar until his retirement in 1944.

Professor Fite was a distinguished scholar. He broke new ground with his Social and Industrial Conditions in the North during the Civil War (1910) and The Presidential Campaign of 1860 (1911). His History of the United States, published in 1916, was widely used in secondary schools in the United States and many an American schoolboy knew his "Fite." His other publications included The United

States (with Archibald Freeman, 1923); A Book of Old Maps (1926); and Government by Cooperation (1932).

Professor Fite was not only a scholar; he was also an indefatigable public servant. He was elected Justice of the Peace in 1928; and from 1934 to 1943 he served the Poughkeepsie area as a member of the New York State Legislature. His outstanding achievement as Assemblyman was the Fite Civil Service Law.

Mr. Fite stimulated in his students a genuine interest in political science, particularly in the fields of international law and constitutional law. In his teaching of American government, because of his first-hand experience with politics and politicians, he was able to bring life and substance into the classroom.

He will long be remembered by his students and his colleagues as a good teacher, a gentle friend, a kindly neighbor, and a wise counselor.—C. GORDON POST.

## SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

At the Annual Meeting of The American Political Science Association in Washington, D. C., September 10-12, the following officers were elected for 1953-54, or took office: President, Ralph J. Bunche (United Nations); President-Elect, Charles McKinley (Reed College); Vice Presidents, Taylor Cole (Duke University), J. A. C. Grant (University of California, Los Angeles), Claudius O. Johnson (Washington State College); Secretary, Harvey C. Mansfield (The Ohio State University); Treasurer, Edward H. Litchfield (Cornell University); new members of the Council (two-year term): Manning J. Dauer (University of Florida), Earl Latham (Amherst College), Arnaud Leavelle (Stanford University), Dayton D. McKean (University of Colorado), J. Roland Pennock (Swarthmore College), C. Herman Pritchett (University of Chicago), Wallace S. Sayre (City College of New York), Dwight Waldo (University of California, Berkeley). Continuing members of the Council, elected last year, are Walter H. Bennett (University of Alabama), Hugh A. Bone (University of Washington), Robert A. Dahl (Yale University), David Fellman (University) of Wisconsin), Victor Jones (Wesleyan University), Jack W. Peltason (University of Illinois), Emmette S. Redford (University of Texas), and Clinton Rossiter (Cornell University).

Copies of panel papers delivered at the Annual Meeting may be purchased for \$.50 each by writing to the Washington Office.