one Norwegian, and one Argentine land station which have operated during the seasons under review. Full details of the catch for 1950-51 are not yet available, but in the two preceding seasons it was slightly over 1200 Blue Whale units.

Some comments may be made on the catches of the various species shown in Table 1. The ratio of Blue Whales in the catches has tended to decline, but the significance of this is complicated by variations in the opening date of the season and the areas of hunting. Fin whales have constituted more than half the catch in recent years. In 1949 it was agreed to allow the taking of a limited number of Humpback Whales, which had been protected in the Antarctic since 1938. The reason for the increase in Sei Whales is not very

TABLE 2. Nationality of pelagic factory ships

	1945-46	1946-47	1947-48	1948-49	1949-50	1950-51
Norway	6	7	9	10	10	10
U.K.	2	3	3	3	3	3
South Africa	1	1	1	1	1	1
Netherlands		1	1	1	1	1
U.S.S.R.	_	1	1	1	1	1
Japan		2	• 2	2	2	2
Panama		_		_	_	1
	9	15	17	18	18	19

certain, but they are usually found in high latitudes only when the water is at its warmest. The catches of Sperm Whales have increased in the last three seasons, and are well above the pre-war figures. The limited antarctic season applies only to baleen whales, and Sperm Whales can be taken before the opening date.

N. A. MACKINTOSH

NEW REGULATIONS FOR THE NORWEGIAN-SOVIET FRONTIER, 1950

[From the Press Bulletin (Norway), 2 December 1950. A full translation of these regulations is available at the Scott Polar Research Institute.]

The Norwegian Government has recently published regulations concerning what is permitted and not permitted in the neighbourhood of the Norwegian-Russian frontier. Cultivation of soil and construction of buildings are not permitted within 4 metres of the frontier. Prospecting and exploitation of mineral deposits are not permitted within 20 metres of the frontier without special permission from the Norwegian frontier-commissioner. It is forbidden to photograph Russian territory, or without special permission from the frontier-commissioner to be in possession of a camera within 1000 metres of the frontier. It is forbidden to fire shots across the frontier or commit similar actions directed against Soviet territory or against persons, animals, or objects in Soviet territory. It is forbidden at the frontier to behave in an offensive manner against the Soviet Union or its authorities. It is forbidden to cross the frontier by land, water, or air without special permission from the frontier-commissioner. Vessels in rivers along the frontier are, however, allowed to use the main channel even if this does not strictly correspond to the frontier

line. Vessels used for timber-floating are also permitted to deviate from the frontier and also vessels in distress. It is forbidden without special permission to conduct conversations or to fraternize in other ways with persons on the other side of the frontier. On rivers which form part of the frontier, vessels may only ply during the hours of daylight. Norwegian citizens are permitted to fish in rivers and lakes which form part of the frontier as long as they keep on the Norwegian side of the frontier-line, but it is forbidden to use explosives, poison, or anaesthetic materials to kill or injure the fish.

THE INTER-AMERICAN TREATY OF RECIPROCAL ASSISTANCE, RIO DE JANEIRO, 1947

[Based on Inter-American conference for the maintenance of continental peace and security... Report of the delegation of the United States of America. Washington, U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948. (Department of State Publication 3016.)]

The Treaty of Rio de Janeiro (for the mutual defence of the Americas), which was signed on 2 September 1947, begins with a condemnation of war by the high contracting parties and a pledge not to resort to force in any manner inconsistent with the Charter of the United Nations or the treaty itself. The contracting parties undertake to endeavour to settle such controversies as may arise between them before referring them to the General Assembly or the Security Council of the United Nations.

The vital Article III registers agreement that an armed attack by any State against an American State shall be considered as an attack against all the American States. Each contracting party undertakes to assist in meeting the attack. On the request of the State or States attacked, and pending the decision of the "Organ of Consultation", each contracting party may determine the measures which it should itself adopt to fulfil this obligation.

The interest of the treaty to readers of the Polar Record lies in Article IV, which states:

The region to which this Treaty refers is bounded as follows: beginning at the North Pole; thence due south to a point 74 degrees north latitude, 10 degrees west longitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point 47 degrees 30 minutes north latitude, 50 degrees west longitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point 35 degrees north latitude, 60 degrees west longitude; thence due south to a point in 20 degrees north latitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point 5 degrees north latitude, 24 degrees west longitude; thence due north to a point 30 degrees south latitude, 90 degrees west longitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point on the Equator at 97 degrees west longitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point 15 degrees north latitude, 120 degrees west longitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point 50 degrees north latitude, 170 degrees east longitude; thence due north to a point in 54 degrees north latitude; thence by a rhumb line to a point 65 degrees 30 minutes north latitude, 168 degrees 58 minutes 5 seconds west longitude; thence due north to the North Pole.

These boundaries completely enclose the American continent, including Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Canada and Greenland. Canada is not a member of the Pan-American Union, a signatory of the Act of Chapultepec (which