The President then moved that the General Assembly approve the report of the Resolutions Committee and adopt resolutions 1 through 7, as recommended. This motion was carried by both representatives of Adhering Countries and Members.

- 17 (a) Admission of new Member Country. The General Secretary reported that the Executive Committee had carefully examined the application of the Republic of Korea for admission to the IAU, and had found that the development of astronomy in this country lives up to the standards required for IAU membership. He, therefore, moved that the General Assembly admit the Republic of Korea as a new Adhering Country to the Union. This motion was carried unanimously.
- 17 (b) New Members of the Union. The General Secretary announced that the Executive Committee had, on the proposal of Adhering Organizations and on the advice of the Nominating Committee, admitted 612 new Members to the Union, and deleted 10 names from its membership list. The names of new Members had been prominently displayed and the General Secretary did not propose to read them. He informed the General Assembly that these names would be incorporated in the alphabetical list of Members to appear in print, and that the new Members would be informed in writing of their election.
  - 18. Commissions.
- (a) The General Secretary submitted to the approval of the General Assembly the following proposal of the Executive Committee:
  - (i) that the name of IAU Commission No. 15 be henceforward 'Physics of Comets, Minor Planets and Meteorites'
  - (ii) that the name of IAU Commission No. 22 be henceforward 'Meteors and Interplanetary Dust'
  - (iii) that the name of IAU Commission No. 25 be henceforward 'Stellar Photometry and Polarimetry'
  - (iv) that the name of IAU Commission No. 42 be henceforward 'Close Binary Stars'
  - (v) that IAU Commission No. 43 'Astrophysical Plasmas and Magnetohydrodynamics' be abolished
  - (vi) that two new IAU Commissions be established, namely IAU Commission No. 49 'The Interplanetary Plasma and the Heliosphere', and IAU Commission No. 50 'Protection of Existing and Potential Observatory Sites'

This proposal was approved by the General Assembly.

(b) The General Secretary presented, on behalf of the Executive Committee, the following list of Presidents and Vice-Presidents of IAU Commissions for election by the General Assembly, subject to their willingness to serve:

Commission	President	Vice-President
No.		
4	R. L. Duncombe	V K. Abalakin
5	JC. Pecker	W. D. Heintz
6	P. Simon	E. Roemer
7	P. J. Message	V. Szebehely
8	G. van Herk	R. H. Tucker
9	A. B. Meinel	J. Ring
10	K. O. Kiepenheuer	G. A. Newkirk
12	R. G. Giovanelli	M. K. V. Bappu
14	R. H. Garstang	W. Lochte-Holtgreven
15	A. H. Delsemme	N. B. Richter
16	C. H. Mayer	T C. Owen
17	S. K. Runcorn	E. Anders and K. P. Florenskij
19	C. Sugava	R. O. Vicente