# Special Announcements

### **Special Announcements**

#### AUSTRIAN HISTORY AWARD

The Austrian History Award of \$1,000 for the best unpublished book-length manuscript on Austrian history, sponsored by the Austrian Institute of New York, N. Y., was given to Prof. William M. Johnston, of the University of Massachusetts, for his study "The Gay Apocalypse: Creative Thought in Austria-Hungary and its Successor States, 1848-1938." The award was presented to Prof. Johnston at a formal ceremony at the Austrian Institute on November 10, 1969.

The selection committee, composed of Dr. Gottfried Heindl, Director of the Austrian Institute; Prof. R. John Rath, of Rice University; Dr. E. Willard Spaulding, former cultural attaché at the United States embassy in Vienna; and Prof. Robert A. Kann, of Rutgers University (chairman), also chose five studies, among the twenty reviewed in the contest, for honorable mention. Listed in alphabetical order according to the name of the author, they are as follows:

"Growing up in Vienna: the Youth of Victor Adler," by Ronald Florence, of Sarah Lawrence College.

"Catholic Social Thought in Austria, 1815-1848," by Bertram M. Gordon, of Mills College.

"Othmar Spann and the Politics of 'Totality:' Corporatism in Theory and Practice," by John Haag, of the University of Georgia.

"The Problem of Peace and Austrian Society, 1889-1916," by Richard Robert Laurence, of Michigan State University.

"Austria and the Crimean War, 1853-1856," by Paul W. Schroeder, of the University of Illinois.

### AUSTRIAN MINISTRY OF EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIP

The Austrian Ministry of Education will again grant a limited number of scholarships for the academic year 1971-1972. One or more of these scholarships can be awarded to American students now working on a doctoral dissertation or on another research project in the field of Austrian history. These scholarships carry a monthly stipend of 4,600

schillings (approximately \$177.00). They are not to be used to supplement a stipend received from another scholarship or fellowship. Holders of these scholarships are expected to be in residence in an Austrian university. Married students are not excluded from consideration, but the grant itself covers only the cost of tuition and maintenance of a single person. Candidates wishing to apply for this scholarship should send a letter of application, together with letters of recommendation and other supporting material, including an outline of their research project, directly to Prof. Robert A. Kann, Department of History, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, N. J. 08903, before December 1, 1970.

Rutgers University

ROBERT A. KANN

## PRIZE FOR BEST ARTICLE ON CENTRAL EUROPEAN HISTORY

In accordance with the motion unanimously passed at the business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History at the Statler Hilton Hotel in New York City on December 28, 1968, empowering "the incoming Executive Board... to direct the current surplus to whatever purpose it thought would best advance the aims of the Conference Group," the Executive Board, at a meeting at the Shoreham Hotel, Washington, D. C., on December 27, 1969, passed the following resolution:

- (1) A \$250.00 prize is to be given every two years to the North American scholar who in the opinion of a prize awards committee has written the best article dealing with Central European history published during the two years preceding the awarding of the prize in a scholarly journal in the United States, Canada, or abroad. In awarding the prize, preference is to be given to younger scholars.
- (2) The manuscripts submitted for this prize are to be evaluated by a special three-member committee appointed every two years by the executive board of the Conference Group. One member of the committee is always to be a person whose main research interests are in German history, and another member is always to be a specialist in the history of the area that was included in the Austro-Hungarian monarchy. The research interests of the third member can be in any field of Central European history.

- (3) The prize will first be awarded in December, 1970. The prize committee for 1970 will consider articles which have been published since January, 1969.
- (4) Three copies of each article submitted for the prize are to be sent to the prize committee before October 15 of the year the prize is awarded. These articles may be submitted by the authors of the articles concerned, the editors of journals in which they have been published, or anyone else who wishes to recommend them for the prize.

One copy of each article submitted or recommended for the prize awarded in December, 1970, should be sent before October 15, 1970, to each member of the selection committee, to wit: (1) Prof. Werner T. Angress (chairman), Department of History, State University of New York, Stony Brook, N. Y. 11790; (2) Prof. Istvan Deak, Institute on East Central Europe, Columbia University, New York, N. Y. 10027; and (3) Prof. Paul Schroeder, Department of History, University of Illinois, Champaign, Illinois 61820.

#### PERSONNEL

On December 28, 1969, William A. Jenks, of Washington and Lee University, was made a member of the Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy. Besides Mr. Jenks, the membership of this committee is now composed of Charles Jelavich, of Indiana University; Robert A. Kann (executive-secretary), of Rutgers University; Enno E. Kraehe, of the University of Virginia; Wayne S. Vucinich, of Stanford University; and Piotr S. Wandycz, of Yale University.

On December 28, 1969, R. John Rath, of Rice University, was elected chairman of the Conference Group for Central European History. Gordon A. Craig, of Stanford University, was elected vice-chairman and Henry Turner, of Yale University, member of the executive board. In December, 1968, Charles Jelavich, of Indiana University, had been elected for a two-year term as secretary-treasurer and Hans Gatzke, of Yale University, for a similar term as member of the executive board. The executive board of the Conference Group is now composed of the above officers and Fritz Epstein, of Indiana University, who was last year's chairman, and Douglas Unfug, of Emory University.