COMMISSION 38. EXCHANGE OF ASTRONOMERS (ECHANGE DES ASTRONOMES)

(Committee of the Executive Committee)

President: Edith A. Müller

Vice-President: Sir Francis Graham Smith

Organizing Committee: A.A.Boyarchuk, A.Florsch, Y.Kozai, K.CH.Leung, G.Swarup, C.R.Tolbert, H.H.Voigt, F.B.Wood (ex off.), Ye Shu-Hua.

The present report covers the period 1 February 1985 to 30 November 1987. During this period a total of 23 travel grants were awarded as follows:

Name	Origin	Destination
A. Aiad	-Cairo University	-ESO, Garching, FRG
	Arab Rep. Egypt	
B. Barbuy	-Univ. Sao, Paulo, Brazil	-Obs. de Paris-Meudon, France
E. Brandi	-Univ. La Plata, Argentina	-Inst. d'Astrophys.Liège,Belgium
S. Caganoff	-Mt.Stromlo & Siding Springs Obs., Australia	-VLA of NRAO, New Mexico, USA
Cheng Fuhua *	-Univ. Science & Technology Heifei, China (Nanjing)	-NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Greenbelt, USA
Chun Young-Woo *	-Yonsei Univ. Obs. Seoul, Rep. Korea	-Dominion Astrophys. Obs., Victoria, Canada
H. Deasy	-Dunsink Observatory Dublin, Ireland	-Astronomical Center, Warsaw,
J. C. Forte	-Astronom. Obs., La Plata, Argentina	-CTIO, La Serena/Cerro Tololo, Chile
S. Gíridhar	-Indian Inst. Astrophys., Bangalore, India	-Univ. of Mexico, Mexico
I. Hubeny	-Univ. Vienna, Austria	-Obs. de Paris-Meudon, France
K. Iwasaki	-Kwasan & Hido Obs. Kyoto, Japan	-Bosscha Observatory, Lembang, Indonesia
A. Kus	-Radio Astronomy Obs. Torun, Poland	-CALTECH, Pasadena, USA
J.McCarthy	-CALTECH, Pasadena, USA	-Univ. of Munich, FRG
T. Ozkan	-Univ. Obs.Istanbul, Turkey	-Univ. of Munich, FRG
E. Pehlemann	-Göttingen Obs., FRG	-Sacramento Peak Obs., New Mexico, USA
N. Ramamani *	-Osmania Univ. Hyderabad, India	-Univ. of Edinburgh, U.K.
A. Ray	-TIFR, Bombay, India	-Univ. of Virginia, Charlottesville, USA
K. C. Sahu *	-Phys. Research Lab.,	-Kapteyn Lab. Groningen, NL, and
	Ahmedabad, India	Inst.d'Astrophys.,Paris,France
D. J. Saika	-Radio Astronomy Center, TIFR, Bangalore, India	-NRAL Jodrell Bank, U. K.
S. Sukumar	-Radio Astronomy Center TIFR, Bangalore, India	-Univ. of Illinois, Urbana, USA
P. Teague *	-Mt.Stromlo & Siding Springs Observatory, Australia	-Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, Mass., USA
P.Venkatakrishnan	-Indian Inst. Astrophys. Bangalore, India	-Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, Mass., USA
Yao Bao-an	-Shanghai Observatory China (Nanjing)	-ESO, Garching, FRG

538 COMMISSION 38

The 5 travel grants attributed during the period 1 February - 30 November 1985 (i.e. before the XIXth IAU General Assembly in Delhi) are marked with an asterisk.

One additional colleague from China (Nanjing) was given a travel grant to visit the Raman Institute in Bangalore, India, for half a year. Unfortunately, he had to change his plans and cancel his project before he could undertake his travel to Bangalore. Consequently, he returned his travel grant he had received from the Commission.

Out of the 23 astronomers receiving a travel grant 33% came from India. In total the beneficiaries came from 14 different countries. The host institutes were located in 11 different countries, 33% being in the USA. We are most grateful to all host institutes for providing our grantees with the necessary research facilities and, in most cases, with a grant or fellowship for covering their living expenses during their prolonged visits. Quite a few more institutes would be willing to host a foreign astronomer with similar research interests as the host astronomers but they cannot pay for the visitor's living expenses. It is becoming more and more difficult for a host institute to provide a visitor with such a financial support. It is, therefore, recommended to prospective travel grant applicants wishing to spend several months or a year at a foreign astronomical institute to make every effort possible in searching for a grant or fellowship, either international or national (in the home or the host country), if the host institute has no means to offer a subsistence support.

Almost all those having received a travel grant have submitted, upon their return to the home institute, a report on their scientific activities, their plans for continued collaboration and, possibly, their publications produced during their visit abroad.

A total of 17 applications had to be rejected because they did not meet with the requirements of the travel grant scheme. Some of the reasons were that the applicant had no means or grant for covering the living expenses at the host institute, or the applicant wished to go on a short observing mission only, or wished to attend a meeting, etc.

Quite a number of inquiries were received but no formal application followed up when explanations were given concerning the Commission's guidelines.

Details of the guidelines for the travel grant scheme and the application procedure were published in the IAU Information Bulletin No. 55, February 1986.

The Commission President greatly appreciated the perfect and most valuable collaboration she had with the Commission's Vice-President, and the useful advice she received from various Members of the Organizing Committee. The excellent cooperation of the IAU General Secretary, Jean-Pierre Swings, and of Brigitte Manning at the IAU Secretariat in Paris is most gratefully acknowledged.

Edith A. Müller President of the Commission