OF THE BRITISH SOCIETY FOR THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE

OL . 1	July, 1953	No.
	CONTENTS	
		PAGE
	The Equatorie of the Planetis, by Derek J. Price	223
	THE ZOGRASCOPE-A FORGOTTEN NAME IN OPTICS,	
	BY J. A. CHALDECOTT, M.Sc., A.INST.P.	227
	PROCEEDINGS AT MEETINGS, OCTOBER 1952 TO MAX 1953	230
	Notices	232
	Report of the Council	233
	BOOK REVIEWS	235
	PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP	237

Published online by Cambridge University Press

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

1953 - 1954

PRESIDENT Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas, M.B.E., F.R.S.

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Dr. A. C. CROMBLE Prof. HERBERT DINGLE Prof. J. R. PARTINGTON, M.B.E. Prof. L. Rosenfeld Dr. Charles Singer Robert S. Whipple, Esq.

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Ravensmead, Keston, Kent.

HONORARY TREASURER DR. H. R. CALVERT

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. Angus Armitage J. A. Chaldecott, Esq. Dr. R. S. Clay Dr. A. R. Hall Dr. N. H. de V. Heathcote Dr. H. Heywood Dr. E. J. HOLMYARD THOMAS MARTIN, Esq. Prof. Eva G. R. Taylor Dr. F. Sherwood Taylor Dr. E. Ashworth Underwood Dr. G. J. Whitrow

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN

L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

VICE-CHAIRMAN

Prof. K. R. POPPER

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN Prof. P. B. MEDAWAR, F.R.S. Dr. J. O. WISDOM

Editor of the Bulletin

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.I.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £3 3s. 0d., or £1 1s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year; Members paying £3 3s. 0d. receive Annals of Science.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the Group may obtain the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science for the reduced annual subscription of £1 2s. 0d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society.