Regional and State Association News

Southern Political Science Association Awards

The Southern Political Science Association presented the following awards at its 1995 Annual Meeting in Tampa, Florida.

V.O. Key Award for the best book on Southern politics published in 1994. Awarded to Robert D. Bullard, for his book *Dumping in Dixie: Race, Class,* and Environmental Quality (Westview Press, 1994).

Pi Sigma Alpha Award for the best paper presented at the 1994 Annual Meeting. Awarded to James I. Lengle, Diana Owen, and Molly W. Sonner, Georgetown University for their paper "Divisive Presidential Primaries: The Impact of Electoral and Partisan Contextual Factors on Democratic Party Electoral Prospects."

Marian D. Irish Award for the best paper on Women and Politics presented at the 1994 Annual Meeting. Awarded to Wendy Gunther-Canada, University of Alabama, for her paper "The Politics of Sense and Sensibility: Mary Wollenstonecraft and Catherine Macaulay on Edmund Burke's *Reflections on the Revolution in* France."

Malcolm Jewell Prize for the best paper by a graduate student presented at the 1994 Annual Meeting. Awarded to Jeffrey L. Bernstein, University of Michigan, for his paper "Seniority and Incumbency Advantage: The Case of First-Term Members of the House of Representatives."

Midwest Political Science Association News

The Midwest Political Science Association now has a home page on the information superhighway. We plan to use this medium to make available information on the association to a wider audience than our membership and to permit our members and conference participants to gain access to program information in a more timely fashion. Eventually the web page will include information on the MPSA and its officers, council members, and staff; the 1996 convention, including the Preliminary Program and Final Program; past conference programs to read or download with FTP; the American Journal of Political Science; and a link to other political science organizations, including the APSA gopher. The web page is located at: http://www.luc.edu/orgs/ mpsa.

Northeastern Political Science Association

The Northeastern Political Science Association had its Annual Meeting in Newark, New Jersey on November 9-11, 1995. President Russell Harrison of Rutgers University-Camden presided over the meeting with more than 425 political scientists from 37 different states in attendance at 108 professional panels with close to 350 professional papers given. Association members heard addresses by APSA President Arend Liphart of the University of California at San Diego, Pi Sigma Alpha Speaker Jonathan Alter of Newsweek, and Steven V. Roberts of U.S. News and World Report and "Washington Week in Review." Also International Studies Association Vice President David Forsythe of the University of Nebraska spoke at the meeting and was sponsored by the International Studies Association-Northeast and introduced by its President Meredith Reid-Sarkees of Niagara University.

Incoming officers for the Association include: President Garrison Nelson of the University of Vermont; 1st Vice President and 1996 Program Chair Nancy E. McGlen of Niagara University; 2nd Vice President Thomas C. Brogan of Albright College; and 3rd Vice President Jo Renee Formicola of Seton Hall University. Other officers of NPSA include Executive Director Joseph Melusky of Saint Francis College and Treasurer Donald Buzinkai of King's College.

The 1996 Annual Meeting will be held November 14–16, 1996 in Boston, Massachusetts. General inquiries regarding the 1996 Meeting may be addressed to: Nancy E. McGlen, Department of Political Science, Niagara University, Niagara, N.Y. 14109; Phone (716) 286-8088 office; (716) 773-2697 home; (716) 286-8061 Fax; and e-mail: nmcglen@eagle. niagara.edu.

Georgia Political Science Association

The Georgia Political Science Association presented the following awards at its 1995 Annual Meeting in Savannah, Georgia.

The Donald T. Wells Award for Outstanding Service was given to Brian Murphy, North Georgia College.

The McBrayer Award for the best paper at the 1994 Annual Meeting was presented to Sudha Ratan, Georgia Southern University, for her paper "Hindutva: The Engineering of Hindu-Muslim Enmity in India."

The Undergraduate Paper Competition Award was given to Robert T. Trammell, University of Georgia, for his paper "The Impact of the Local Integration Effort on Bibb County Politics."

A special award was given to G. Lane Van Tassell, Managing Editor of the Southeastern Political Review, for his service to the organization and the journal.