PRIZES AWARDED FOR WRITTEN PAPERS

All papers published by the Royal Aeronautical Society in Aerospace and the Aeronautical Journal are automatically considered for one of the prizes listed below. These prizes are awarded annually and consist of a sum of money and a scroll. The awards are presented to the winners at the Annual General Meeting of the Society which is held in May each year.

THE GEORGE TAYLOR (of Australia) PRIZE for the best paper on design, construction, production and fabrication (including structures and materials).

THE SIMMS PRIZE for the best paper on electrical, electronic and other systems (including the ground environment).

THE BUSK PRIZE for the best paper on aerodynamics, including flight testing.

THE HODGSON PRIZE for the best paper on general subjects such as policy, law, operations, management, education and history.

THE AKROYD STUART PRIZE for the best paper on propulsion.

THE JOHN BRITTEN PRIZE for the best paper on light aviation.





The Royal Aeronautical Society

NEW RANGE OF MERCHANDISE ON SALE TO MEMBERS

The Society has added to its standard merchandise on sale to Members by making available a new range of items as follows: PRICE EACH INC P&P

11	Ladies Square Cream Coloured Scarf with	
•••	repeat bird motif in blue.	£6.50
12.	Three inch Crested Stainless Coasters with	
10	felt backing.	£0.96
13.	Three inch Crested Stainless Coasters with felt	(
	backing boxed in blue satin backed display box. Price per box of six.	£7.00
14	Three inch Crested Stainless Coaster mounted	27.00
	on blue hessian and framed in brown and gold	
	frame size 41/2 in square with hanger attached.	£3.00
15.	Crested Copper Etched Mini Clock in brown	
	frame and hanger attached. Quartz	
4.0	movement. Overall size 91/4 x 41/2 in.	£14.00
16.	Copper Etched Wall Plaque Society Crest etched	
	on to copper with acid, highly polished, laquered. Size $7\frac{1}{2} \times 6$ in. Framed in thin dark brown frame	
	with gold trim, hanger attached.	£6.00
	with gold thin, hanger attached.	20.00
Orders enclosing the correct remittance should be sent to		
	ciety Headquarters, 4 Hamilton Place, London W1	
ULLE	eques etc should be made payable to the	rioyal

Aeronautical Society. Note: The Society's merchandise (items 1-10) will continue to be on sale and details of these items are regularly published in *Aerospace*.

ix

The Royal Aeronautical Society

FOUNDED 1866

INCORPORATED BY ROYAL CHARTER 1949

Patron: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN

COUNCIL 1986/1987

President: T. H. KERR, CB, BSc, CEng, FRAeS

President-Elect: Dr. J. W. FOZARD, OBE, DSc, DCAE, BSc(Hons), FEng, FIMechE, FAIAA, FRAeS

Vice-Presidents:

PROFESSOR J. L. STOLLERY, DSc(Eng), DIC, CEng, FCGI, AFAIAA, FRAeS Dr. P. H. CALDER, OBE, PhD, BSc(Hons), DIC, ACGI, CEng, MIMechE, FRAeS Air Marshal Sir ERIC DUNN, KBE, CB, BEM, CEng, FRAeS, RAF

Past Presidents:

CAPTAIN E. M. BROWN, CBE, DSc, AFC, MA, FRAeS, RN (Ret'd) PROFESSOR M. G. FARLEY, HonCGIA, CEng, FIMechE, FBIM, FIProdE, FRAeS Dr. G. K. C. PARDOE, PhD, BSc(Eng), DLC, CEng, FBIS, FRAeS

Members:

M. W. ANDERSON, AE, MA(Cantab), CEng, MICE, MSAE, AFAIAA, FRAeS R. G. AUSTIN, MSc, CEng, MAIAA, FRAeS, A. E. M. BARTON, DFC, CEng, MRAeS A. L. BLACKMAN, OBE, MA, FRAeS V. W. CLARKSON, CEng, FRAeS (Chairman - Branches Committee) J. L. CROWDER, MA, CEng, FBIS, AFAIAA, HonMIED, FRAeS (Chairman — Astronautics and Guided Flight Section) N. FALCONER, BSc, MEcon, FIStat, MRAeS P. A. HEARNE, MSc, DLC, FEng, FRAeS G. C. HOWELL, MA, MSc, CEng, FRAeS N. A. JACKSON, CBE, CEng, FRAeS D. L. KNIGHT, BSc(Eng), AMRAeS Ms M. MANNASSI, BSc(Eng), ACGI, AMRAeS H. METCALFE, OBE, BSc, ARCS, FEng, FRAeS Dr. G. G. POPE, MSc(Eng), PhD, DIC, FCGI, CEng, FRAeS AIR MARSHAL SIR CHARLES PRINGLE, KBE, MA, FEng, CBIM, FRAeS, RAF(Ret'd) D. J. RICHER, MSc, CEng, MRAeS, V. A. B. ROGERS, MSc, FEng, FIMechE, FRAeS P. R. SAMPSON, TEng, AMRAeS J. T. STAMPER, MA (Cantab), FEng, FRAeS R. B. STRATTON, CEng, FRAeS, MCASI, FSLAET (Chairman - Rotorcraft Section) A. T. WORKER (Chairman — Graduates' and Students' Section)

Overseas Division:

D. R. REES, CEng, FRAeS (*President — Australia*) M. J. BAKER, CEng, MRAeS, (*President — New Zealand*) PROFESSOR J. D. HODGSON, CEng, MRAeS, (*President — South Africa*) CAPT. J. R. HEAP, CEng, FRAeS (*President — Zimbabwe*)

https://doi.org/10.1017/S0001924000096731 Published online by Cambridge University Press