JOURNAL of the

AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Series B — Applied Mathematics

Volume 35 Part 4 APRIL 1994

The computational approach to commuting ordinary differential	
operators of orders six and nine	
Geoff A. Latham	399
On the generalized complementarity problem	
Jen-Chih Yao	420
On nonlinear programming and matrix game equivalence	
Vasile Preda	429
On an integral of Lommel and Bessel functions	
M. Aslam Chaudhry	439
Perturbations of nonlinear autonomous oscillators	
P. B. Chapman	445
On a family of logarithmic and exponential integrals occurring in	
probability and reliability theory	
M. Aslam Chaudhry	469
A numerical scheme for the electromagnetic response in thin conductors	
of arbitrary planar shape	
P. F. Siew	479
Cost-time trade-off in three-axial sums' transportation problem	
Lakshmisree Bandopadhyaya	498
A boundary value problem of elastoplastic deformation process theory:	
Existence and uniqueness theorems	
Dao Huy Bich	506

The Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1959, and from 1975 appears in two series, Series A (Pure Mathematics and Statistics) and Series B (Applied Mathematics). Series B is published in volumes comprising four quarterly parts. Information about Series A and other publications of the Society may be found on the inside back cover.

It is the editorial policy of Series B to accept papers in any field of applied mathematics and related mathematical sciences. Novel applications of mathematics in real situations are especially welcomed. All papers should include some indication of applicability, and an introduction that can be understood by non-specialist readers from the whole applied mathematical community.

Editor of the Journal, Series B

C. E. M. PEARCE, Applied Mathematics Department, The University of Adelaide, S.A. 5005, Australia.

Associate Editors

B. D. CRAVEN Department of Mathematics University of Melbourne Parkville Vic. 3052

R. H. J. GRIMSHAW Department of Mathematics Monash University Clayton Vic. 3168

J. F. HARPER

Department of Mathematics Victoria University of Wellington P.O. Box 600

Wellington, New Zealand

J. M. HILL

Department of Mathematics University of Wollongong P.O. Box 1144

Wollongong N.S.W. 2500

C. A. HURST

Department of Physics and Mathematical Physics The University of Adelaide

S.A. 5005 P. KLOEDEN

Department of Computing and

Mathematics Deakin University Geelong Vic. 3217 M. R. OSBORNE Program in Advanced Computation

School of Mathematical Sciences

A.N.U., P.O. Box 4 Canberra A.C.T. 2601

P. K. POLLETT

Department of Mathematics University of Queensland Old 4072

K. L. TEO

Department of Mathematics The University of Western

Australia

Nedlands W.A. 6009

E. O. TUCK

Applied Mathematics Department The University of Adelaide

S.A. 5005 W. W. WOOD

Department of Mathematics University of Melbourne Parkville Vic. 3052

Assistant Editors

E. A. COUSINS, J. VAN DER HOEK, Applied Mathematics Department, The University of Adelaide, S.A. 5005, Australia.

Manuscripts (three copies) for publication should be sent to the editor or to an appropriate associate editor at the address given above. Such action is a representation by the author that the manuscript has not been copyrighted or published, and that it is not being considered for publication elsewhere.

Authors are asked to read the section "Preparation of Manuscripts" on the outside cover.

Irrespective of the number of authors, 100 free offprints of each copy are provided; additional offprints may be ordered at the expense of the authors.

Excessive costs incurred by the Society through corrections to or withdrawal of articles may be charged to the authors concerned.

Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, Series B-Applied Mathematics (ISSN 0334-2700) is published quarterly for A\$158 (Members A\$23) per annum by the Australian Mathematical Society, Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, Old 4072, Australia. Second class postage is paid at Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106. Postmaster: Send address change notices to Dr B. D. Jones, Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, Department of Mathematics,