WORKSHOP ISLAND 3 ALGEBRAIC ASPECTS OF INTEGRABILITY

Islay, Scotland, UK 3–7 July 2007

Introduction. As did the very first ISLAND workshop, ISLAND 3 took place on the Hebridean island of Islay, providing a beautiful and serene surrounding for the meeting which ran for over four days. Building on the success of the previous meetings, ISLAND 3 saw the largest number (so far) of participants coming from countries all over the world. A complete list can be found below.

The keynote talks were delivered by international experts in aspects of integrable systems, including Professors Etsuro Date (Osaka, Japan), Boris Dubrovin (SISSA, Italy), Masatoshi Noumi (Kobe, Japan), Simon Ruijsenaars (Leeds, UK), Alexander Varchenko (Chapel-Hill, North-Carolina USA) and Alexander Veselov (Loughborough, UK). These talks reflected the large variety of algebraic aspects featured in integrable systems covering problems of universal critical behaviour of solutions of integrable equations, orthogonal polynomials and discrete integrable systems, interrelation between classical integrable systems and soliton solutions of wave equations, Calogero–Moser systems and Knizhnik–Zamolodchikov equations, the Bethe ansatz method and its application to algebraic geometry. A highlight of the workshop was the talk by Professor John McKay (Concordia, Canada) who pointed out the integrable systems structures appearing in the theory of modular functions. The diversity of the topics covered by the workshop is also reflected in these proceedings, and we wish to thank all the authors for their contributions.

The scientific success and high standard of the conference was matched by the hospitality and excellent food of the Machrie Hotel, Islay, and on behalf of all the local organisers we wish to express our sincere thanks to its staff and the hotel manager.

Well-deserved breaks between talks and scientific discussions were used to sample Islay's famous whiskies and explore its beautiful scenery and its history as the former seat of the Lords of the Isles. We hope that the impressions left by Scotland's hospitality and natural beauty as well as the stimulating scientific discussions held during the conference will see many participants return to the ISLAND workshops to come.

This workshop would have not been possible without the financial support of the following funding bodies: the Daiwa Foundation, the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, the Edinburgh Mathematical Society, the Glasgow Mathematical Journal Trust, the Institute of Physics, the London Mathematical Society, the MISGAM network funded by the European Science Foundation and the Sasakawa Foundation. We gratefully acknowledge all of their financial contributions as well as the one from the Department of Mathematics at the University of Glasgow.

Finally we would like to give our thanks to our international advisory committee,

Harry Braden University of Edinburgh

Boris Dubrovin SISSA, Trieste

Alexander Veselov Loughborough University,

for its help and suggestions, as well as our co-organisers Chris Athorne, Claire Gilson and Jon Nimmo, the postgraduate students Susan Macfarlane and Craig Sooman, Dr Chunxia Li (visiting on a Royal Society China fellowship) and Mrs Gail Henry from the Department of Mathematics, University of Glasgow, for their help in organising this workshop.

Misha Feigin, Christian Korff and Ian Strachan The Editors

List of participants

Christopher Athorne University of Glasgow Mariusz Bialecki The University of Tokyo

Institute of Geophysics PAS

Michael Bialy Tel-Aviv University Harry Braden University of Edinburgh

Guido Carlet SISSA

Oleg Chalykh University of Leeds Alexander Chervov ITEP Moscow Etsuro Date Osaka University

Yassir Ibrahim Dinar SISSA

Adam Doliwa University of Warmia and Mazury

Boris Dubrovin SISSA

Victor Enolski Institute of Magnetism, Kiev Misha Feigin University of Glasgow

Eugene Ferapontov
Allan Fordy
Claire Gilson
Luc Haine

Claire Gilson
University of Clasgow
University of Glasgow
University of Louvain

Martin Hallnäs Royal Institute of Technology

Masashi Hamanaka University of Nagoya John Harnad CRM, Montreal Jarmo Hietarinta University of Turku Luuk Hoevenaars Utrecht University

Nalini Joshi The University of Sydney

Kenji Kajiwara Kyushu University
Saburo Kakei Rikkyo University
Christian Korff University of Glasgow
Chunxia Li University of Glasgow
Sarah Lobb University of Leeds

Sara Lombardo Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Susan MacFarlane University of Glasgow John McKay Concordia University Jun Mada The University of Tokyo

Kenichi Maruno University of Texas-Pan American

Andrey Mironov Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Novosibirsk

Folkert Müller-Hoissen Max-Planck-Institute for Dynamics

and Self-Organization, Göttingen

Maciej Nieszporski Uniwersytet Warszawski
Jonathan Nimmo University of Glasgow
Masatoshi Noumi Kobe University
Vladimir Novikov University of Kent

Maxim Pavlov P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow

Andrea Raimondo Imperial College, London

Paolo Rossi SISSA

Simon Ruijsenaars University of Leeds

Jan Sanders Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Cornelia Schiebold Mid Sweden University

The Schiebold State of the Schi

Wolfgang Schief Technische Universitaet Berlin
Alexander Sergeev Loughborough University
Sergey Smirnov Moscow State University

Vladimir Sokolov Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics

Craig Sooman University of Glasgow Ian Strachan University of Glasgow Tetsuji Tokihiro The University of Tokyo

Didier Vanderstichelen Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL)
Alexander Varchenko University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Alexander Veselov Loughborough University

Claude Viallet Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

Jing Ping Wang

Ralph Willox

Thomas Woodcock

University of Kent, Canterbury
The University of Tokyo
Imperial College London

Jun-xiao Zhao Service of Physics of l'Etat Condense, CEA France

Dafeng Zuo Korea Institute for Advanced Study