Association News

and Freedoms does not and should not have the power to censure individuals. The committee relies on universities, colleges and other employing institutions to operate by procedures that provide due process.

The American Political Science Association encourages universities to define coercive sexual conduct as a form of moral turpitude or gross misconduct and to utilize university dismissal procedures to deal with such behavior.

When a political scientist is dismissed, not reappointed or suspended from employment by a university, college or other employing institution for the stated reason of coercive sexual harassment, moral turpitude or gross misconduct involving coercive sexual harassment, the Association, upon the recommendation of its Ethics Committee, shall inform its members through *PS*.

The Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights and Freedoms stands ready to respond to complaints of sexual harassment. If at the completion of its fact-finding, the committee finds such complaints to be valid, it will take all supportive action it can to restore the dignity and professional well-being of the victim, including preparation of letters and documents to university administrators or others which dispel any cloud of blame from the sexually harassed person.

Sexual harassment is a gross violation of professional ethics comparable to plagiarism or falsification of research and should be regarded and treated as such by members of the profession.

Editor's Note: The complete Council minutes are reprinted in the Appendix of this issue of PS.

Kenneth Waltz Elected President-Elect

International relations scholar Kenneth Waltz has been elected to serve as president-elect of APSA for 1986-87 and will assume the office of president in 1987-88.

Waltz was elected by acclamation at the Annual Business Meeting on August 30 in Washington, D.C. along with the other nominees selected by the Nominating Committee for APSA offices and Council positions.

Beverly Blair Cook, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Charles O. Jones, University of Virginia, and Lucian W. Pye, Massachusetts Institute of Technology,

were elected vice-presidents of APSA for 1986-87. Paul Dawson, Oberlin College, was elected secretary for 1986-87. Helen Ingram, University of Arizona, will serve a second year as treasurer.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a two-year term (1986-88) are: Robert H. Bates, Duke University; David W. Brady, Rice University; Demetrios Caraley, Barnard College, Columbia University; Francis W. Carney, University of California, Riverside; Margaret Karns, University of Dayton; David Morgan, University of Liverpool; Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State University; and Robert M. Rosenzweig, Association of American Universities.

Continuing their 1985-87 terms are: John W. Kingdon, University of Michigan; Stephen D. Krasner, Stanford University; Paula D. McClain, Arizona State University; Karen O'Connor, Emory University; Carole Pateman, University of Sydney; G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester; Kenneth Shepsle, Harvard University; and Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas.

Mann to Leave APSA, Take Brookings Post

Executive Director Thomas E. Mann has announced that he will leave APSA to become senior fellow and director of the Governmental Studies Program at the Brookings Institution upon the conclusion of APSA's 1987 annual meeting.

"Tom Mann has been an extraordinarily able executive director. We will miss him," APSA President Samuel P. Huntington said.

"Under Tom's leadership APSA has reversed its decline in membership, instituted Organized Sections, begun a variety of new programs, raised several million dollars for Project '87 and other APSA programs, revamped APSA publications, provided the impetus for the revival of the Consortium of Social Science Associations, and effectively represented us in the academic and Washington communities. These accomplishments have taken place without an increase in dues. In fact, APSA has run a

budgetary surplus every year since Tom became executive director. Political scientists are indeed indebted to him," Huntington continued.

Tom Mann came to Washington in 1969 on a Congressional Fellowship. Since that time he has worked at APSA in a variety of positions, including director of the Congressional Fellowship Program. Mann was named executive director in 1981.

"My years at APSA have been enjoyable and rewarding. As much as I hate to leave, I look forward to the exciting challenge ahead," Mann said. "And I'll just be around the corner," he quipped. (Brookings is located two blocks from APSA's national office.)

In addition to his work at APSA, Mann has served as co-director of the Congress Project at the American Enterprise Institute and taught at several Washingtonarea universities. He has written and edited a number of books and articles on congressional elections, Congress and democratic politics.

Search

Huntington announced that he will appoint a search committee for a new executive director. A detailed announcement will appear in the *Personnel Service Newsletter* and will be sent to all department chairs. Nominations for the position are welcome and should be sent to President Samuel P. Huntington, American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036.

Nominating Committee Seeks Suggestions

The Nominating Committee, headed by Myron W. Weiner of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, seeks suggestions for nominees to APSA offices.

The Committee will make nominations for eight Council positions, as well as the offices of treasurer, secretary, vice presidents (three positions) and president-elect. The Committee usually meets in

March in order to report to the President no later than April 15.

The members of the nominating committee are:

Charles Hamilton, Department of Political Science, Columbia University, 420 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10027

Kathleen McGinnis, Department of Political Science, Trinity College, Washington, DC 20017

Nelson W. Polsby, School of Government, Harvard University, 79 John F. Kennedy Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

Samuel Popkin, Department of Political Science, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA 92093

Arlene Saxonhouse, Department of Political Science, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Myron Weiner, Chair, Department of Political Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA 02139

APSA, Pi Sigma Alpha Seek Oral History Director

The American Political Science Association and Pi Sigma Alpha announce a search for Project Director of the profession's oral history project on the development of the discipline of political science. The individual selected for the position should have a demonstrated interest in the area of oral history and the profession of political science and be able to secure some released time, office space and equipment, and clerical assistance from his or her institution.

The Project Director will assume active management of the oral history project, including the scheduling, transcription and editing of new interviews, the maintenance and dissemination of released transcripts, and the preparation of monographs for student use from the oral histories. Overall policy guidelines for the project will be provided by an advisory committee composed of representatives from APSA and Pi Sigma Alpha.

The profession's oral history project was