## COMMISSION 38: EXCHANGE OF ASTRONOMERS (ÉCHANGE DES ASTRONOMES)

## Report of Meeting

ACTING PRESIDENT: D. A. MacRae.

SECRETARY: F. B. Wood.

Commission 38 held its business meeting on the 21st August, 1973. Present were J. Sahade, K. Strand, J. P. Wild, F. B. Wood, Secretary, D. A. MacRae, presiding, in the absence of Drs Reiz and Routly.

The sad losses of Drs Minnaert and Bowen were noted with regret. These two members of the IAU had served Commission 38 loyally and energetically.

The draft report as prepared by the President was approved in principle.

- P. M. Routly was unanimously elected president for the coming triennium.
- J. P. Wild declined nomination as vice-president; D. A. MacRae was nominated and unanimously elected.

The following were nominated to serve (with the president and vice-president as ex officio members) as the Organizing Committee for the interval 1973–1976: J. Delhaye, G. S. Khromov, A. Reiz, J. Sahade, F. G. Smith and F. B. Wood.

Dr Sahade was requested to report to the Executive Committee of the Union the difficulties caused in the work of this Commission in particular by the devaluation of the U.S. dollar, and to urge an appropriate increase in the funds allotted to the Commission.

A letter from *Dr Reiz* concerning the grant allocation procedure was read. The Commission agreed with Dr Reiz's conclusion that there was no need for introducing a more formal procedure than currently existing for the efficient operation of the Commission.

F. B. Wood was delegated to represent the Commission at the joint meetings with Commissions 5, 9 and 46 on the World List of Observatories and D. A. MacRae to represent Commission 38 in the joint meetings with 5, 36 and 46 on Publication Economies and Policies.