ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Organising Committee would like to thank the following for their generous support to the 15th International Radiocarbon Conference

AOC Scotland Ltd. **British Council** British Nuclear Fuels plc Department of Archaeology, Glasgow University Department of Statistics, University of Glasgow Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) **English Heritage Glasgow City Council** Glasgow Development Agency Greater Glasgow Tourist and Convention Bureau High Voltage Engineering Europa B.V. Historic Scotland International Science Foundation Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) NERC Radiocarbon Laboratory Packard Instrument Company Radiocarbon Laboratory, Scottish Universities Research and Reactor Centre (SURRC) Thermoluminescence Laboratory, SURRC Wallac Oy

We would also like to acknowledge the constant and conscientious support we had from the staff at Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama.

EXHIBITORS

High Voltage Engineering Europa B.V. Multi Detector Systems Ltd. and Simonsen Medical A/S Packard Instrument Company John Smith & Son (Glasgow) Ltd. VG Micromass Wallac Oy

LOCAL SUPPORT

There are a number of people without whose support and assistance the conference simply would not have been possible and certainly would not have run so smoothly. They include Niall Anderson, Fiona Begg, Roland Bol, Maureen Hastings, Martin McCartney, Philip Naysmith (thanks for the slides), Mary Nisbet, Elaine Scanlon, David Sinclair and, of course, Myra Smith, who kept her cool when all around were losing theirs.

Lastly, we want to acknowledge the family support each of us received (in particular from Mamie and John Harkness and Irene Cook).

THE ORGANISING COMMITTEE

Gordon Cook, SURRC Radiocarbon Laboratory Doug Harkness, NERC Radiocarbon Laboratory Brian Miller, NERC Radiocarbon Laboratory Marian Scott, Department of Statistics, University of Glasgow

We would like to take this opportunity to thank also the members of the scientific committee for guiding us in the preparation of the conference programme. The ultimate responsibility and blame were of course ours, but their advice was invaluable.

THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Mike Baillie, The Queen's University of Belfast, Northern Ireland John Barber, AOC Scotland Ltd. Peter Becker-Heidmann, University of Hamburg, Germany Ellen Druffel, University of California, Irvine, USA Steinar Gulliksen, University of Trondheim, Norway Alan Hogg, University of Waikato, New Zealand Rupert Housley, University of Oxford, England Tim Jull, University of Arizona, USA Austin Long, University of Arizona, USA John Noakes, CAIS, University of Georgia, USA Bob Otlet, Radiocarbon Dating, England Mieczysław Pazdur,[†] Silesian Technical University, Poland Hans van der Plicht, University of Groningen, The Netherlands John S. Vogel, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, California, USA Mark Van Strydonck, Institut voor het Kunstpatrimonium, Belgium

In addition, we also wish to thank the session chairpersons and the organisers of the satellite workshops, including

Patrick Ashmore, John Barber, Rupert Housley and Mark Van Strydonck for Archaeology Mike Baillie and Andy Dugmore for Volcanology Peter Becker-Heidmann for Radiocarbon in Soils Steinar Gulliksen for TIRI Ann McNichol for Carbon in the Oceans Wim Mook for PAGES John Noakes for Liquid Scintillation Techniques John S. Vogel for AMS Sample Preparation

Lastly, of course (and certainly not least), we wish to thank all staff and friends at *RADIOCARBON* who advised, encouraged and helped us; they were Kimberley Tanner Elliott, Tim Jull, Austin Long, David Sewell and, of course, Renee Kra.

[†]Deceased 11 May 1995