

MRS MOVERS & SHAKERS > Spread the good news!

Richard Vaia. Air Force Research Laboratory's Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, was recently elected a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.

He was selected for his distinguished contributions to engineering based on "aerospace applications of polymeric nanomaterials and for technical leadership in materials for national defense applications."

Vaia has pioneered discoveries in polymer nanocomposites that are used in stronger, lighter, and more functional components in commercial and military sectors.



Chennupati Jagadish, Distinguished Professor at The Australian National University, Australia, was recently elected a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.

He was selected for contributions to nanotechnology for optoelectronic devices.

Jagadish's research focuses on compound semiconductor optoelectronics, nanotechnology, photovoltaics, neuroscience, and neurotechnology.



Kristi Anseth, Distinguished Professor, Tisone Professor, and Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Colorado Boulder, is a recipient of the L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award for her outstanding contributions in converging engineering and biology to develop innovative biomaterials that help tissue regeneration and drug delivery.

There are five recipients of this award, and they are recognized alongside 15 Rising Talents, young women scientists from all over the world. UNESCO and L'Oréal Foundation actively support women in science in order to increase their visibility, raise awareness of their talent, and inspire more of them to work in science.



Chad Mirkin, Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology at Northwestern University, is the winner of the 2020 Philip Hauge Abelson Prize from the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The award is presented to a scientist or public servant who has contributed significantly to the advancement of science in the United States

A professor of chemistry, chemical and biological engineering, biomedical engineering, materials science and engineering, and medicine, Mirkin is being honored for multiple contributions to the fields of chemistry and nanoscience.



Anirudha Sumant was promoted to Group Leader of Nanofabrication and Devices at Argonne National Laboratory. His current research interests include superlubricity, nucleation, and growth mechanisms of chemical vapor deposition diamond, graphene, and carbon nanotubes, microscale and nanoscale tribology, and electronic and mechanical properties of carbon-based materials.



Tina Nenoff, a senior scientist at Sandia National Laboratories, was recently elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She was awarded this honor for the "advancement of science in service to society" for her research and leadership in the field of nanoporous materials, particularly in ion and gas separations for energy and environmental applications.

Congratulations to the following MRS members for their recent election as Fellows:

2019 American Association for the **Advancement of Science Fellows**

Chemistry

Stephen E. Bradforth University of Southern California

Paula Diaconescu

University of California, Los Angeles

Jennifer A. Hollingsworth Los Alamos National Laboratory

Todd D. Krauss University of Rochester

Benjamin L. Miller University of Rochester

Thuc-Quyen Nguyen University of California, Santa Barbara

George C. Shields Furman University

Mark Urban Clemson University

Engineering

Andrea Alù

The City University of New York Advanced Science Research Center

David Cahill University of Illinois

at Urbana-Champaign **Ashutosh Chilkoti**

Matthew DeLisa

Duke University

Cornell University **Dan Fleetwood**

Vanderbilt University

David H. Gracias Johns Hopkins University

Piotr Grodzinski

National Cancer Institute/ National Institutes of Health





University of Connecticut/ UConn Health

Gopal R. Rao

Materials Research Society

Sharon L. Walker

Drexel University

Industrial Science and Technology

Ray H. Baughman

The University of Texas at Dallas

William D. Provine

Delaware Innovation Space/DuPont

Ellen D. Williams

University of Maryland

Physics

Reiner Kruecken

TRIUMF/The University of British Columbia

Georgetown University/ University of California, Davis

Vincent Meunier

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Ivan I. Oleynik

University of South Florida

Mark George Raizen

The University of Texas at Austin

James Siegrist

US Department of Energy

Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

William S. Kisaalita

University of Georgia

William R. Moomaw

Tufts University

2019 American Physical **Society Fellows**

(Nominated Division)

Husam Alshareef

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics)

Jiming Bao

University of Houston (Division of Materials Physics)

Katia Bertoldi

Harvard University (Topical Group on Soft Matter)

James William Brav

GE Global Research (Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics)

Jasna Brujic

New York University (Topical Group on Soft Matter)

Michael L. Chabinyc

University of California, Santa Barbara (Division of Polymer Physics)

Markus Deserno

Carnegie Mellon University (Division of Biological Physics)

Wenhui Duan

Tsinghua University (Division of Computational Physics)

Jutta E. Escher

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (Division of Nuclear Physics)

Hendrik F. Hamann

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics)

Kristjan Haule

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (Division of Materials Physics)

Can-Ming Hu

University of Manitoba (Topical Group on Magnetism)

Alan James Hurd

Los Alamos National Laboratory (Forum on International Physics)

Sohrab Ismail-Beigi

Yale University (Division of Materials Physics)

Robert A. Kaindl

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Division of Laser Science)

Lisa M. Manning

Syracuse University (Division of Condensed Matter Physics)

Masaki Oshikawa

The University of Tokyo (Division of Condensed Matter Physics)

Aydogan Ozcan

University of California, Los Angeles (Division of Laser Science)

Idalia Ramos

University of Puerto Rico at Humacao (Forum on Education)

Harry Francis Robey

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (Division of Plasma Physics)

Connie Barbara Roth

Emory University (Division of Polymer Physics)

Sayeef Salahuddin

University of California, Berkeley (Division of Materials Physics)

Carlos Silva

Georgia Institute of Technology (Division of Chemical Physics)

Dimitris Vlassopoulos

FORTH and University of Crete (Division of Polymer Physics)

Charles Albert Weatherford

Florida A&M University (American Physical Society)

Marion M. White

Argonne National Laboratory (Forum on Physics and Society)

Jing Xia

University of California, Irvine (Division of Condensed Matter Physics)

Huili Grace Xing

Cornell University (Division of Condensed Matter Physics)

Xin Zhang

Boston University (Forum on Industrial and Applied

2020 Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) Fellows

Mark Asta

University of California, Berkeley

Diana Farkas

Virginia Tech

David McDowell

Georgia Institute of Technology

Neville Moody

Sandia National Lab (Retired)

Do you have an announcement about yourself or a colleague that you'd like to share with the Materials Research Society and materials communities? We will publish a selection of these in upcoming issues of MRS Bulletin. Spread the good news and send your announcement to Bulletin@mrs.org.