

# THE AERONAUTICAL QUARTERLY

A JOURNAL DEVOTED TO AERONAUTICS AND THE ALLIED SCIENCES

Vol XXVIII

November 1977

Part 4

# **CONTENTS**

The Stability of a Two-dimensional Wall Jet	Y Tsuji, Y Morikawa, T Nagatani and M Sakou	235
The Stability of a Radial Wall Jet	Y Tsuji, Y Morikawa and M Sakou	247
An Intermittent High-Reynolds-Number Tunnel	Wind J L Stollery and A V Murthy	259
Chordwise Variation of Vorticity: A Co of Approximations for Use in Panel Met		265
A Note Related to the Pressure Inside an Inflating Parachute Canopy	PR Payne and EGU Band	271
A Comparison of Techniques for Estima STOL Aircraft Response to Low Altitud Turbulence		278
Comparison of Numerical and Experime "Conical" Flow Fields in Supersonic Co with Compression and/or Expansion		293
Correspondence		
Index		306

ROYAL AERONAUTICAL SOCIETY 4 HAMILTON PLACE, W1V 0BQ LONDON

# THE AERONAUTICAL QUARTERLY

### **Editorial Board**

Professor W A Mair, CBE, MA, FRAeS (Chairman)
Sir Arnold Hall, MA, FRS, HonFRAeS, HonFAIAA
Dr J H Horlock, MA, PhD, FRS, FRAeS
Lord Kings Norton, DSc, DIC, PhD, HonFRAeS, FAIAA
Sir Morien Morgan, CB, MA, FRS, FRAeS
Sir Alfred Pugsley, OBE, DSc, FRS, HonFRAes
Professor S C Redshaw, DSc, PhD, FRAeS, FICE, FIStructE
Sir Owen Saunders, FRS, FRAeS
Professor W H Wittrick, ScD, PhD, FRAeS

Editor - Miss E C Pike, MA, FRAeS

### **Editorial Referees**

The high standard of papers published in The Aeronautical Quarterly is the result of the care and vigilance of many specialist referees. Hardly a paper is published that has not been improved by their suggestions and their contribution to an author's work is often considerable. The Editorial Board and the Editor are pleased to acknowledge here, and to thank on the authors' behalf, the following specialists who have refereed papers during the past year.

Dr A W Babister	Mr D V Ellis	Prof W S Hemp	Dr D L Schultz
Mr E H Broadbent	Prof J E Ffowcs Williams	Prof H G Hopkins	Dr A Simpson
Dr H H Bruun	Mr J Gait	Mr G C Howell	Dr P D Smith
Prof J F Clarke	Dr J C Gibbings	Mr J G Jones	Dr L C Squire
Dr R R Clements	Prof M B Glauert	Dr H Mansfield	Prof K Stewartson
Dr D J Cockrell	Mr E L Goldsmith	Prof H Marsh	Prof J T Stuart
Mr H L Cox	Dr J M R Graham	Prof B G Newman	Prof J H Whitelaw
Prof P O A L Davies	Mr A B Haines	Dr P H Richards	Prof F W Williams
Dr G T S Done	Dr G Z Harris	Mr P L Roe	Prof A D Young
Dr J Dunham	Dr J K Harvey	Dr R A Sawyer	

Moreover, since this is the last issue under the present editorship, the Editor would like to express her personal thanks for the guidance, help and kindness of countless referees during the past 30 years.