ECCLESIASTICAL LAW JOURNAL

July 2001

Women Bishops—The Task Ahead Rt Revd Dr Michael Nazir-Ali

The Churchwardens Measure 2001 James Behrens

Church-State Relations in the United Kingdom: A Westminster View

Frank Cranmer

Exhumation Reconsidered
Philip Petchey

Archdeacon of Cheltenham v Bland: A sledgehammer to crack a nut

Revd Dr Stephen Pix

(For full list of contents, see back cover)

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW JOURNAL

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

James Behrens Rupert Bursell Lynne Leeder Peter Moore

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

Bishop Eric Kemp Professor Richard Helmholz Professor Francis Lyall

Chancellor David McClean Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP Professor Dr Gerhard Robbers

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

ISSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 6 Ecc L.I

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Macintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford OX2 6DP.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

Vice-Patrons

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

President

The Rt Revd Dr Eric Kemp

Elective Officers (to 2002)

CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson OBE† VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Stafford† SECRETARY: Peter Beesley† DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens† TREASURER: The Revd John Reest

Executive Officer

The Revd Dr Stephen Pix†

General Committee 2001–2002

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: James Behrens (to 2002)

The Worshipful Chancellor John Holden (to 2002) The Worshipful Chancellor Charles Mynors (to 2002)

The Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP (to 2002)

Brian Hanson CBE (to 2003)

David Harte (to 2003)

The Ven the Archdeacon of Malmesbury (to 2003)

Augur Pearce (to 2003) Paul Barber (to 2004)

The Revd and Worshipful Chancellor Rupert Bursell QC† (to 2004)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman†* (to 2004)

The Worshipful Chancellor Mark Hill (to 2004)

CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 2001)

The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby QC (to 2002)

His Honour Quentin Edwards QC (to 2002)