## Message from the Editor

With this issue, the Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences enters its tenth year of publication. A journal, particularly one dealing with the nervous system, should have the potential for plasticity, and readers will note some modifications in this issue. The front cover has been redesigned to present the contents in a more attractive and readable format. The title page for each article has also been modified and we have switched to a two column format which is favored by the majority of a small sample of readers who were polled. Physical appearance is, of course, a secondary consideration, and none of these changes will alter the Journal's mandate to publish high quality scientific material covering a broad range of clinical and basic neuroscience.

The maturation of the Journal over the past decade has been reflected by a steady increase in the number of manuscripts submitted for consideration by the editorial board. Selecting the limited number of papers which can be published in the space available in the Journal is not an easy task, and the editor relies heavily on the opinions of external reviewers. In addition to members of the editorial board, who are involved in the review process on a regular basis, many members of the neuroscience community in Canada have willingly contributed their time and expertise to the task of reviewing manuscripts. In many cases their constructive criticisms and suggestions to the authors have resulted in substantial improvements in the overall style and quality of papers. The names of our external reviewers for the past 18 months are listed below, and the editor would like to take this opportunity to express appreciation to these individuals.

Robert G. Lee, M.D.

P. Ashby D. Baxter L.E. Becker W.J. Becker C. Bertrand M. Bisby C.F. Bolton W. Blume M. Brandstater G.M. Bray W.F. Brown K. Brownell J. Bruni D.B. Calne S. Carpenter S.G. Coupland B. Curry H. Darwish L. Dolman G.C. Ebers

J. Edmeads A. Eisen W.H. Feindel G.G. Ferguson H.C. Fibiger J. Gibson J. Gilbert J. Girvin B.J. Goldman V. Hachinski R.S. Hannah R. Haslam D.C.N. Howse J.G. Humphrey G. Karpati A. Kertesz T.H. Kirkham B. Kolb F.E. LeBlanc M.A. Lee

G. Lucier S.K. Ludwin D.J. MacFayden G. Machin A.J. McComas E. McGeer V. McMillan P. Muller J.T. Murphy S. Nag M. Norman J.W. Norris H. Rabin A.H. Rajput J.C. Richardson P.M. Richardson D.M. Robertson H. Sarnat H. Schutz C.M. Shafto

J.A. Sharpe A.L. Sherwin A.A.F. Sima D. Simard E. Smith J.D. Stewart R. Tasker C. Tator J. Tibbles I. Turnbull J.A. Wada K.G. Warren G. Watters J. Wherrett G. Wortzman P. Wyse B. Young