

Nominations Sought for 1997 APSA Book Awards



Nominations are invited for APSA Book Awards to be presented at the 1997 Annual Meeting, August 28-31, in Washington, DC. Books published in 1996 may be nominated by publishers or individuals who submit nominations. The deadline for submission of books to an award committee is February 15, 1997. Interested individuals should submit a letter of nomination to APSA no later than January 15, 1997, a supply and copy of the letter to the appropriate publisher to assure that the award committee members each receive the book by February 15. A list of 1997 Book Award Committees and their addresses follows:

Ralph J. Bunche Award

For the best scholarly work in political science which explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism

Oliver Jones Florida A&M University 412 Tucker Hall Tallahassee, FL 32307

Franke Wilmer
Dept. of Political Science
Montana State University
2-126 Wilson Hall
Bozeman, MT 59717

Jeanne Meadows Spelman College Box 278 350 Spelman Lane Atlanta, GA 30314-2107

Bunche Award APSA 1527 New Hampshire Ave., NW Washington, DC 20036

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

for the best political science publication in the field of U.S. national policy

Randy T. Simmons Dept. of Political Science Utah State University Logan, UT 84322-0725

Edward Carmines
Dept. of Political Science
Indiana University
Woodburn Hall
Bloomington, IN 47405

Ruth Jones 8814 N. 86th Street Scottsdale, AZ 85258

Kammerer Award APSA 1527 New Hampshire Ave., NW Washington, DC 20036

Victoria Schuck Award

For the best book published on women and politics

Jane Mansbridge JFK School of Governement Harvard University 79 JFK Street Cambridge, MA 02138

Shane Phelan Dept. of Political Science University of New Mexico Albuquerque, NM 87131 Nancy McGlen Dept. of Political Science Timon Hall Niagara University Niagra, NY 14909

Schuck Award APSA 1527 New Hampshire Ave., NW Washington, DC 20036

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award

For the best book published in the United States in the field of government, politics or international affairs

John McIver Dept. of Political Science University of Colorado Boulder, CO 80309-0333

Harvey Starr
Dept. of Government and
International Studies
Columbia, SC 29208

Sue Crawford Dept. of Political Science Creighton University Omaha, NE 68178

Wilson Award APSA 1527 New Hampshire Ave., NW Washington, DC 20036

Further details may be obtained by contacting the Awards Coordinator, Sean Twombly, at the National Office by phone (202) 483-2512 or via E-mail at twombly@apsa.com.



Nominations Sought for 1997 APSA Career and Dissertation Awards



Nominations are invited for APSA Career and Dissertation Awards to be presented at the 1997 Annual Meeting, August 28-31, in Washington, DC.

Departments are invited to submit nominations for dissertation prizes, although not more than one per award. Dissertations eligible are those completed and accepted during the past two calendar years. Department submissions should be sent to each member of the award committee and include a letter of nomination and a copy of the dissertation. Departments must submit their nominations by January 15, 1997.

Individuals are invited to submit, for consideration, letters of nomination for Career Awards. Career Awards are decided upon by three-member committees appointed by the president and approved by the Council. The deadline for submission of letters is January 31, 1997.

APSA Career and Dissertation Awards are listed below:

Dissertation Prizes

Gabriel A. Almond Award - in field of comparative politics.

William Anderson Award - in the field of federalism and intergovernmental relations.

Edward S. Corwin Award - in the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award - in the field of policy studies.

Helen Dwight Reid Award - in the field of international relations, law and politics.

E.E. Schattschneider Award - in the field of American government.

Leo Strauss Award - in the field of political philosophy.

Leonard D. White Award - in the field of public administration.

Career Awards

John Gaus Award and Lectureship - to honor a recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration and more generally, recognizes achievement and encourages scholarship in public administration.

Charles E. Merriam Award - Given to a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award - in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Carey McWilliams Award - to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Award Committee members and further information may be obtained by contacting the Award Coordinator, Sean Twombly, at the National Office by phone (202) 483-2512 or via e-mail at twombly@apsa.com