People in Political Science

Activities

Michael H. Armacost, formerly U.S. Ambassador to Japan and currently distinguished senior fellow at Stanford University's Asia/Pacific Research Center, delivered the second Huang Hsing Foundation Distinguished Lecture, "The United States and Asia: The Challenge of Change," at the University of California, Berkeley, December 1, 1993.

Gayle Binion, professor of political science, University of California, Santa Barbara, was elected to the board of trustees of the Law and Society Association 1993–1996.

Alexander L. George, professor of political science, Pepperdine Uni-



Alexander L. George

versity, has been honored by his friends, colleagues and former students with the publication of a book of essays entitled, *Diplomacy, Force and Leadership* (Westview Press, 1993).

Alan G. Hevesi, professor of political science, Queens College, was elected Comptroller of New York City, November 1993.

Landis Jones, professor, department of political science, University of Louisville, is running for the congressional seat vacated by Romano L. Massoli, 3rd District, Kentucky.

Charlotte Ku, former adjunct professor at the Johns Hopkins University(SAIS)-Nanjing University Center for Sino-American Studies at Nanjing University, China, and assistant professor of government and foreign affairs at the University of Virginia has been named Executive Director of the American Society of International Law.

Daniel P. Mulhollan, Library of Congress, has been appointed director of the Congressional Research Service succeeding Joseph E. Ross, who retired.

Neil J. Smelser, professor of sociology, University of California, Berkeley, has been named the fifth director of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, effective September 1, 1994.

Ronald Steel, professor of international relations, University of Southern California delivered the first in a series of Joanna Jackson Goldman lectures. The series is intended to foster discussion of American customs, international relations and economic and social issues.

Darrell West, Brown University, has been appointed co-editor, with Susan Webb, American University, of Congress & The Presidency: A Journal of Capital Studies. David T. Cannon, University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been appointed Reviews and Book Editor.

James Q. Wilson, the James Collins Professor of Management and Public Policy, University of California, Los Angeles, has been named to the board of trustees of the RAND Corporation.

Administrative Appointments

Deborah Baumgold, acting head, department of philosophy, University of Oregon, 1993–94.

Barry Bozeman, director, school of public policy and professor of public policy; formerly director, center for technology and information policy, Maxwell School, Syracuse University.

Mark W. DeLancey, chair, department of government and international studies, University of South Carolina.

Francine Friedman, assistant professor of political science at Ball State University, has been appointed director of the newly established Office of European Studies.

Christine Harrington, associate professor of politics, New York University, has been appointed Director of the Institute for Law and Society.

Mark S. Kamlet, dean, H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy and Management, Carnegie Mellon University.

Fred A. Lazin, the Lynn and Lloyd Hurst Family Chair of Local Government has been appointed Director of the Overseas Student Program at Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Beersheva, Israel.

Janice Love, director, graduate program in international studies, University of South Carolina.

Robert M. Rood, vice-chair, department of government and international studies, University of South Carolina.



Paula D. McClain

Paula D. McClain, chair, Woodrow Wilson Department of Government and Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia, effective July 1, 1994.

New Appointments

Christopher Anderson, assistant professor, department of political science, Rice University; formerly Washington University in St. Louis.

Earl Black, Herbert S. Autrey Professor of Political Science, Rice University; formerly University of South Carolina.

Carolyn Funk, assistant professor, department of political science, Rice University; formerly University of California, Los Angeles.

Dean C. Hammer, assistant professor of political theory, department of government, Franklin and Marshall College.

E. Brooke Harlowe, assistant professor and coordinator of international studies, department of political science, Susquehanna University.

Wolfgang Hirczy, assistant professor, department of political science, Oklahoma State University, formerly University of Houston.

Kevin P. Lane, assistant professor of comparative government, department of government, Franklin and Marshall College.

Thomas Longoria, Jr., assistant professor of political science, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; formerly Texas A&M University.

Matthew M. Schousen, instructor of American government, department of government, Franklin and Marshall College.

Promotions

Michael Brecher, Department of Political Science, McGill University, named R.B. Angus Professor of Economics and Political Science.

Gavan Duffy, assistant professor with tenure, department of political science, Syracuse University.

Thoms M. Holbrook, associate professor of political science with tenure, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Rosemary O'Leary, associate professor with tenure, department of public administration, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University.

Carol Swain, associate professor of politics and public affairs, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University.

Visiting and Temporary Appointments

Barry Bozeman, director, Center for Technology and Information Policy, Maxwell School, Syracuse University, visiting professor of public policy at the Institute for Public Policy Studies, University of Michigan, 1993–1994.

Susan E. Clarke, University of Colorado at Boulder, Visiting Fellow, Government Department, University of Essex, 1993–94.

B. J. Moore, visiting instructor, department of political science and public administration, University of Toledo.

Award Recipients

Catt Center Prize Winners Named

The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics of the Iowa State University has named the winners of the first Carrie Chapman Catt Prizes for Research on Women and Politics. Robin M. Le Blanc of the Carl Albert Center, University of Oklahoma was awarded the \$1000 Graduate Student Prize for her work, "Homeless as Citizens: The Political World of the Japanese Housewife." Pauline E. Schloesser of Indiana University was chosen as runnerup. Leonie Huddy, SUNY Stony Brook, was awarded the Faculty Prize of \$1000 for her essay "Feminism and Feminists: A Symbolic Politics Study." Faculty Prize runner-ups include Nancie Caraway, Georgetown University; Nancy J. Hirshman, Cornell University; and Lyn Kathlene, Purdue University. The two winners and the runnerups were invited to participate in the Prize Colloquium held on March 4 in Ames, Iowa.

NYSPSA Announces Awards

The New York State Political Science Association has named award winners for the best papers presented at the NYSPSA 1993 Annual Meeting.

The award for the best paper by a graduate student was presented to Miriam Fendius of the department of political science, Columbia University for her paper titled "The Foreign Policies of Small States: Challenging Neutralism on its Own Home Court."

The award for the best paper by a practicing political scientist was shared by two authors: Mark Maier of the school of education and human development, Binghamton University of the State University of New York for his paper "The Challenger Disaster: Routine Processes, Disastrous Consequences," and Robert W. Bailey of the school of international and public affairs, Columbia University for his paper "Neo-Institutionalism and the Allo-