## Contributors

**Pablo Barberá** is Associate Professor of Political Science and International Relations at the University of Southern California and a research scientist at Facebook.

Adam J. Berinsky is the Mitsui Professor of Political Science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Director of the MIT Political Experiments Research Lab.

**Richard Fletcher** is a senior research fellow and research team leader at the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at the University of Oxford.

Erika Franklin Fowler is Associate Professor of Government at Wesleyan University and Co-Director of the Wesleyan Media Project.

**Michael M. Franz** is Professor of Government and Legal Studies at Bowdoin College and Co-Director of the Wesleyan Media Project.

Francis Fukuyama is the Olivier Nomellini Senior Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and the Mosbacher Director of the Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law at Stanford University.

Timothy Garton Ash is the Isaiah Berlin Professorial Fellow at St. Antony's College at the University of Oxford, Professor of European Studies at the University of Oxford, and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.

**Robert Gorwa** is a doctoral student in the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of Oxford.

Andrew Grotto is the William J. Perry International Security Fellow at the Center for International Security and Cooperation, Research Fellow at the

Hoover Institution, and Director of the Program on Geopolitics, Technology, and Governance at the Stanford Cyber Policy Center.

**Andrew M. Guess** is Assistant Professor of Politics and Public Affairs at Princeton University.

Tim Hwang is a research fellow at the Center for Security and Emerging Technology at Georgetown University.

Daphne Keller is Director of the Program on Platform Regulation at the Stanford Cyber Policy Center.

Rasmus Kleis Nielsen is Director of the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism and Professor of Political Communication at the University of Oxford.

Paddy Leerssen is a PhD candidate at the University of Amsterdam.

**Benjamin A. Lyons** is Assistant Professor of Communication at the University of Utah.

**Nathaniel Persily** is the James B. McClatchy Professor of Law at Stanford Law School and the Faculty Co-Director of the Stanford Cyber Policy Center.

**Travis N. Ridout** is the Thomas S. Foley Distinguished Professor of Government and Public Policy in the School of Politics, Philosophy and Public Affairs at Washington State University and Co-Director of the Wesleyan Media Project.

**Alexandra A. Siegel** is Assistant Professor of Political Science at the University of Colorado Boulder.

**Joshua A. Tucker** is Professor of Politics, affiliated Professor of Russian and Slavic Studies, and affiliated Professor of Data Science at New York University.

**Chloe Wittenberg** is a doctoral student in the Department of Political Science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

**Samuel C. Woolley** is Assistant Professor at the School of Journalism at the University of Texas at Austin.