Social Distribution of Knowledge, submitted by the University of Chicago; dissertation chair, James Coleman.

Bruce W. Jentleson, University of Chicago, Davis, the Harold D. Lasswell Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1983 and 1984 in the field of policy studies, for *Pipeline Politics: The Alliance and Domestic Politics of American Economic Coercion Against the Soviet Union*, submitted by Cornell University; dissertation chair, Peter Katzenstein.

Wayne A. Edisis, the Helen Dwight Reid Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1983 and 1984 in the field of international relations, law and politics, for *The Hidden Agenda: Negotiations for the Generalized System of Preferences*, submitted by Brandeis University; dissertation chair, Robert O. Keohane.

John Zaller, Princeton University, the E. E. Schattschneider Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1983 and 1984 in the field of American government, for *The Role of Elites in Shaping Public Opinion*, submitted by the University of California, Berkeley; dissertation chair, Nelson W. Polsby.

Ruth Grant, University of Chicago, and lan Shapiro, Yale University, the Leo Strauss Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1983 and 1984 in the field of political philosophy. Grant won for her thesis John Locke's Liberalism, submitted by the University of Chicago; dissertation chair, Joseph Cropsey. Shapiro won for Individual Rights in Modern Liberal Thought: A Realist Account, submitted by Yale University, dissertation chair, Douglas W. Rae.

Donald W. Chisholm, University of California, Berkeley, the Leonard D. White Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1983 and 1984 in the field of public administration, including broadly related problems of policy formation and administrative theory, for *Informal Organization and the Problem of Coordination*, submitted by the University of California, Berkeley; dissertation chair, Martin Landau.

## Bert Rockman Wins Neustadt Book Award

Bert A. Rockman is the winner of the Presidency Research Section's first Richard E. Neustadt Book Award. Rockman was honored at the section's business meeting at APSA's annual meeting for his work, *The Leadership Question: The Presidency and the American System* (Praeger, 1984).

The Neustadt Book Award Committee was composed of Martha J. Kumar of Towson State University, Norman C. Thomas of the University of Cincinnati, and Thomas E. Cronin (Chair) of Colorado College. In selecting Rockman's work as the best book about the American presidency published in 1984, the committee surveyed over 30 works written on the presidency and unanimously agreed that Rockman's was the superior contribution.

## Job Picture Brightest in Ten Years

The ratio of the number of jobs listed at the annual meeting placement service to the number of applicants seeking positions was the highest in a decade. There were 179 jobs listed at the annual meeting and 300 applications for positions (see Table 1).

In contrast, in 1977, the low point of the decade, there were only 142 openings for 570 applicants. Thus, one's chances of obtaining a position in 1985 were almost three times greater than in 1977. Because the placement service caters primarily to new Ph.D.s and listings are mainly for junior appointments, these figures reflect the job prospects primarily for those entering the profession. Sixtyfour percent of the job classifications were for assistant professors, 20% for associate professors, 5% for professors, 4% for instructors, 1% for chairs and 6% for non-teaching jobs.