# JOURNAL OF APPLIED PROBABILITY

VOLUME 48

NUMBER 2

JUNE 2011



EDITOR-IN-CHIEF S. ASMUSSEN FOUNDING EDITOR (1964–1989) J. GANI PAST EDITOR-IN-CHIEF (1990–2007) C. C. HEYDE

https://doi.org/10.1017/S0021900200008093 Published online by Cambridge University Press

# JOURNAL OF APPLIED PROBABILITY

This is an international journal published by the Applied Probability Trust in association with the London Mathematical Society; it contains research papers and notes on applications of probability theory to the biological, physical, social and technological sciences. An annual volume of up to 1200 pages is published in four issues appearing in March, June, September and December.

### **EDITORIAL BOARD**

E

E

ology)
0

#### EDITORIAL OFFICE

Executive Editor Production Editor L. J. NASH (University of Sheffield) E. TALIB (University of Sheffield)

All correspondence relating to the submission of papers should be sent to: The Executive Editor, Applied Probability, School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Sheffield, Sheffield S3 7RH, UK. Subscription rates and notes for contributors are to be found on the inside back cover.

## **APPLIED PROBABILITY TRUST PRIZES 2010**

The Trustees of the Applied Probability Trust (APT) have much pleasure in announcing the names of the APT Prize winners for 2010. We offer them our warmest congratulations, and look forward to their pursuing further studies and eventually careers in probability, statistics and their applications.

Australian National University, Canberra	Joe Gani
June 2011	for the APT Trustees

The following prize awards for undergraduate and postgraduate achievement in 2010 were funded by the Applied Probability Trust.

University of Adelaide (Applied Probability Trust Prize) (2009) Renee Ianotti
(2009)
Australian National University
The Faculties (Applied Probability Trust Prize)
Institute of Advanced Studies (P. A. P. Moran Prize)
University of California, Santa Barbara
(Abraham Wald Prize)
(Gani prize)
(Ruth and Joe Gani Prize for PhD Thesis) Maxime Gheysens and Anouk Neven
University of Cambridge (Bartlett Prize)
CWI, Amsterdam (Applied Probability Trust Prize) I. M. Verloop
Imperial College, London (Hyman Levy Prize)
University of Kentucky (R. L. Anderson Prize)
University of Manchester (M. S. Bartlett Prize)
University of Melbourne (Norma McArthur Prize)
(2009)
(2010) Joshua Mendelsohn
University of Newcastle, New South Wales (Applied Probability Trust
Statistics Prize)
The Open University (George Barnard Prize)
University of Sheffield (Sir Edward Collingwood Prize)
and Anneka Nelson-Girtchen
University of Sydney (Applied Probability Trust Prize)
(2009) David R. Lewis
(2010) Jason Jia Son Tran
University of Waterloo (George Barnard Prize) Jie Ning Fu
University of Western Australia (Richard Tweedie Memorial
Applied Probability Trust Prize) Wilson Ong
University of Wollongong
(William Sealy Gosset Prize) Andrew Morris
(Applied Probability Trust Prize) Not yet announced

#### **ROLLO DAVIDSON TRUST**

The Trustees of the Rollo Davidson Trust give notice that they have awarded the Rollo Davidson Prize for 2011 jointly to

**Dr Christophe Garban** (Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon) and **Professor Gábor Pete** (University of Toronto) for striking and important new results for planar random processes, particularly in establishing a theory of noise sensitivity for critical percolation and the application of this theory to dynamical percolation.

Further details of the Rollo Davidson Trust may be found at http://www.statslab.cam.ac.uk/Rollo/index.html