From the Editor

Chemical Heritage and Microscopy



The Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) was established in 1984 when the American Chemical Society and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers joined together to be the founding members of the organization. It now makes its home near Independence Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As stated on its website, the CHF mission is to "focus on the sciences and technologies of matter and materials and their effect on our modern world, in territory ranging from the physical sciences and industries, through the chemical sciences and engineering, to the life sciences and technologies." To do this the CHF collects, preserves, and exhibits historical artifacts, art, and archival materials; engages communities of scientists and engineers; and tells the stories of the people responsible for scientific and technological innovations

The foundation maintains a library, a museum, and a center for scholars. The Othmer Library of Chemical History holds over 160,000 books, as well as manuscripts, significant archival materials, and historical photographs. In 2008, CHF opened a museum and conference center housing the permanent exhibition, *Making Modernity*, and a gallery for changing exhibitions. Within CHF, the Beckman Center for the History of Chemistry provides funding for scholars working on the history of science, technology, medicine, and industry.

The Chemical Heritage Foundation and the Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy jointly sponsor the Pittcon Heritage Award, honoring entrepreneurs who have commercialized technologies that contribute to scientific discovery. At this year's PITTCON meeting in March, the 2014 Pittcon Heritage Award was presented to Lynwood W. Swanson, founder of FEI, a manufacturer of electron microscopes and focused ion-beam instruments.

Dr. Swanson is the first microscopy innovator honored with this prestigious award. Considering that many of today's light, electron, and scanning probe microscopes yield chemical information from micro- and nano-sized regions, this honor is entirely appropriate.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the *Microscopy Today* website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2014 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman, Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, *Production Manager* glevey@meridianartproduction.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor microscopytoday@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Michael Davidson, Pioneers Editor davidson@magnet.fsu.edu

Steven Barlow, *Education Editor* sbarlow@mail.sdsu.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

E. Ann Ellis, *Microscopy 101 Editor* eann.ellis@suddenlink.net

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor pwebster@usc.edu

John Shields, Humor Editor jpshield@uga.edu

Thomas Kelly, Chief Awards Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Amy Reuter, Account Manager areuter@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available

Publisher

Cambridge University Press 32 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10013-2473 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

Editorial Board

Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University Joseph Goldstein, University of Massachusetts David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Paul Maddox, U. North Carolina, Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Greg Meeker, U.S. Geological Survey Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab Robert Price, University of South Carolina John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY lan Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Paul Voyles, University of Wisconsin Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Sci. and Tech. (NIST)