# THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

### AN ASSOCIATION OF TEACHERS AND STUDENTS OF ELEMENTARY MATHEMATICS

'I hold every man a debtor to his profession, from the which as men of course do seek to receive countenance and profit, so ought they of duty to endeavour themselves by way of amends to be a help and an ornament thereunto.' BACON

## THE COUNCIL

#### PRESIDENT

## Mr Tom Roper

| IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT | Dr Jennie Golding    |
|--------------------------|----------------------|
| PRESIDENT DESIGNATE      | Professor Mike Askew |
| CHAIR OF COUNCIL         | Mr Peter Ransom      |
| SECRETARY                | Dr Chris Pritchard   |
| TREASURER                | Mr David Miles       |
|                          |                      |

| REPRESENTATIVES | BRANCHES                 | Mr Keith Cadman     | (Chair) |
|-----------------|--------------------------|---------------------|---------|
| OF COMMITTEES   | CONFERENCES              | Miss Cherri Moseley | (Chair) |
|                 | PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT | Mrs Julia Brown     | (Chair) |
|                 | PUBLICITY & MEDIA        | Vacant              | (Chair) |
|                 | PUBLICATIONS             | Mr Michael Fox      | (Chair) |
|                 | MEMBERSHIP               | Miss Joyce Brown    | (Chair) |
|                 | TEACHING COMMITTEE       | Mrs Rachael Horsman | (Chair) |
| EDITOR IN CHIEF | Mr Bill Richardson       |                     |         |

MEMBERS Mrs Elizabeth Glaister Mrs Cordelia Myers WITHOUT Dr Ray Huntley Dr David Pountney OFFICE Dr Gerry Leversha Mr Rob Smith Mr Barry Lewis

SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR

Ms Marcia Murray

## EDITORIAL COMMITTEE OF THE MATHEMATICAL GAZETTE

| Editor                | Dr Gerry Leversha                             |
|-----------------------|---|
| Production Editor     | Mr Bill Richardson                            |
| <b>Reviews</b> Editor | Mr Owen Toller                                |
| Problems Editors      | Mr Nick Lord, Dr Stan Dolan                   |
| Assistant Editors     | Mr Tom Roper, Mr Colin Davis, Mr Michael Fox, |
|                       | Dr Andrew Jobbings, Professor Adam McBride    |