38. EXCHANGE OF ASTRONOMERS (ÉCHANGE DES ASTRONOMES)

(Committee of the Executive Committee)

PRESIDENT: A. Reiz.

VICE-PRESIDENT: P. M. Routly.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: D. Ya. Martynov, J. Sahade, J. P. Wild, F. B. Wood.

Commission 38 acknowledges with gratitude the excellent and efficient cooperation with the General Secretary.

During the three-year period 1 January 1970-31 December 1972 covered by the report, a total of 57 travel grants have been awarded. Following a decision taken at the Prague meeting in 1967 the names of the recipients should be published; they are listed below:

the names of the recipients should be published, they are listed below.		
217.	J. E. Felten	From Cambridge to Bombay
218.	Miss N. Houk	From Cleveland to Groningen
219.	E. Ribes	From Meudon to Australia
220.	J. Bergeron	From Paris to Cornell (U.S.A.)
221.	M. Kitamura	From Manchester to Tokyo
222.	D. R. Flower	From London to Meudon
223.	A. Woszcyk	From Austin to Warsaw
224.	D. Lauterborn	From Hamburg to Nebraska
225.	A. Witzel	From Meudon to Greenbank
226.	Mrs M. Quercy	From Paris to Berkeley
227.	J. Zicha	From Ondřejov to Utrecht
228.	N. Jamshedji	From Hyderabad to Geneva
229.	J. Norris	From Canberra over Cambridge (UK) to Frankfurt
230.	O. Bely	From Nice to Maryland
231.	R. D. Ekers	From Los Angeles to Cambridge (U.K.)
232.	S. L. Th. J. Van Agt	From Nijmegen to David Dunlap Observatory
233.	Mr P. Encrenaz	From Meudon to New York
234.	Mrs Th. Encrenaz	From Meudon to New York
235.	K, Swamy	From Houston to Bombay
236.	M. Machado	From San Miguel to Ondřejov
237.	M. K. Aly	From Helwan to Herstmonceux Castle
238.	A. S. Asaad	From Helwan to Herstmonceux Castle
239.	S. Rucinsky	From Warwaw to Gainesville
240.	R. Miller	From Manila to Tucson
241.	J. Zicha	From Prague to Utrecht
242.	F. Kamijo	From Tokyo to Leiden
243.	E. Soytürk	From Istanbul to Prague
244.	R. De Bibhas	From Detroit to Calcutta
245.	S. H. Plagemann	From Cambridge to Tucson
246.	B. T. Ulrich	From Austin to Paris
247.		From Paris to Cornell
248.	M. H. Gokhale	From Bombay to Utrecht
249.	J. O. Jensen	From Copenhagen to Lembang

From Cambridge to Maryland

From Fairbanks to Utrecht

From Paris to Austin

250. J. V. Narlikar251. M. H. Ulrich

252. G. Tarnstrom

253. F. Kamijo
254. G. A. Tammann
255. D. Lauterborn
256. J. A. Tully
257. B. Hidajat
From Leiden to Tokyo
From Basel to Pasadena
From Hamburg to Boulder
From Nice to Sao Paulo
From Lembang to Heidelberg

258. K. Desikachary
 From Hyderabad to London (Canada)
 P. G. Martin
 From Cambridge to New York

260. Ch. V. Sastry

From Kodaikanal to Sydney & Hobart

61. M. B. Hidalgo

From Austin to Nice

From Talvas to Heidalbare

262.S. IsobeFrom Tokyo to Heidelberg263.Mrs C. NavachFrom Geneva to Madison264.I. G. JonesFrom Sydney to Paris265.E. SimonneauFrom Paris to Boulder

266. S. H. H. Naqvi
267. A. Batten
268. R. J. Speer
269. G. Stasinska
270. E. Ribes
271. S. T. Gottesman
From Saskatchewan to Copenhagen From Victoria to Buenos Aires
From London to Hawai
From Paris to Manchester
From Paris to Tokyo
From Jacksonville to Paris

272. W. Weiss From Vienna to La Silla and Cerro Tololo

273. E. G. Schmidt From Tucson to Hailsham

The number of travel grants has increased roughly linearly with time since they were instituted twenty years ago, from 14 during the first three-year period to 57 during the present period. Unfortunately, the funds available to Commission 38 have not shown the corresponding growth. This has resulted in a deficit during the year of 1970, when a particularly large number of qualified applications were received.

The Executive Committee has, however, resolved to disregard the deficit of the commission during 1970 and to leave intact the \$22000.— allocated to the commission for the years 1971-73.

The commission wishes to record its deep gratitude to the Executive Committee for this most important decision.

A comprehensive report of Commission 38 for the years 1967-69 has been published in the *IAU Transactions* XIVA, 'Reports on Astronomy', pp. 451-53, 1970, describing the working policy of the commission

At the IAU meeting in Brighton 1970, the members of the commission agreed that the same policy should be adhered to during the next period: The purpose of Commission 38 is to allocate travel grants to qualified candidates, enabling them to visit an institute abroad to work on problems which they cannot advantageously pursue in their own country.

In accordance with this, our commission has been forced to refuse grants to cover participation in symposia, colloquia, conferences etc., neither has the commission been able to defray costs of living, nor to grant travel subsidies to family members of the recipients.

In order to facilitate the smooth and efficient functioning of the grant allocation machinery we have listed the following information which candidates should provide so that applications may be speedily dealt with:

- (1) a short note about their scientific degree and specialization, planned investigation;
- (2) a plan for the journey, date of departure, duration of stay abroad;
- (3) a letter from the director of the home institute, expressing his agreement with the travel;
- (4) a letter from the director of the host institute, expressing his agreement with the visit;
- (5) the amount of money applied for; have applications for travel grants been submitted to others funds, when should the money be received, and to what address (personal, institute, bank account)?

A. REIZ

President of the Commission