Association News

The eight sections organized by women had women as 34.1% of the chairpersons (30 of 88), 17.4% of the paper givers (58 of 334), and 15.0% of the discussants (21 of 140). (That is, 38.9% of the women paper givers in the Convention's Program-Committee-organized panels were found in the sections organized by women as were 40.4% of the female discussants. In womenchaired panels were to be found 37.0% of the female paper givers at the meeting and 19.2% of the female discussants. Women-chaired panels had 29.0% female paper givers and 16.4% female discussants.)

There were no women on the panels of the two evening plenary sessions. The six speakers and both chairs were males.

The sections with the strongest female representation were: Political Thought: Historical Approaches; Political Thought: Analytical and Critical Approaches; Public Opinion and Political Psychology; Political Participation, Political Power, and the Politics of Disadvantaged Groups; Public Administration and Organization Theory; Policy Studies; Legislative Studies; and the Status of Women in the Profession.

The sections with the weakest female representation were those on Positive Political Theory; Empirical Theory and Research Methods; Electoral Behavior and Popular Control; Legislative Process and Politics; International Relations: Conflict Analysis and National Security; International Relations: Hierarchy and Dependence in the International System; The Practice of Political Science; Conflict Processes; and Law, Courts, and Judicial Process.

1985's lopsided stag panels included those on Approval Voting; Macro and Micro Perspectives; Political Crises, Violence and Terrorism; Party Realignment and Partisan Change; Processes of Partisan Transformation; Political Ambition and Electoral Politics; the Roundtable on Social Protest Movements; the Roundtable in Honor of Charles Hyneman; Studies in the Institutionalized Presidency; the Roundtable on the Reagan Presidency; the Roundtable on Humanities Teaching and Research by Political

Scientists; Formal Models of War; Executive Branch Influences and Constraints Upon the Federal Courts; Marketplace Strategies in Public Policy; Environmental and Energy Policy Problems; Intergovernmental Relations and Public Policy; and Urban Political Culture Under Fiscal Austerity. (The latter had a female chair but seven male paper givers and two male discussants.)

Panels overwhelmingly female included Political Participation of Women in the Third World; State Theories, Development and Women; Gender and Political Orientations; The Interdependence of Gender, Race and Class in American Politics; A Global Look at the Political and Economic Roles of Women; Reconsidering Some Myths of Public Administration; and Subtle and Not So Subtle Discrimination Against Women in Academic Institutions.

I recommend that the Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession undertake a study of why the participation rate for women at the New Orleans meeting declined from that manifested in recent years.

Council Reaffirms Commitment to Sullivan Principles

At its August 28 meeting APSA's governing body reaffirmed its commitment to the Sullivan principles. APSA's policy is not to invest in any company doing business in South Africa unless that company adheres to the Sullivan principles. Under these principles companies must not engage in racial discrimination in their employment practices and must work to end apartheid in South Africa.

The question arose at the Council meeting during a review of APSA investments that include mutual funds whose portfolios may include companies that do business in South Africa. Samuel P. Huntington, Nannerl Keohane and Donna E. Shalala prepared the following resolution,

which was approved unanimously by the Council:

The APSA Council deplores the apartheid politics of the government of South Africa, and requests the Board of Trustees of the Trust and Development Fund as a matter of urgency to review the investment policies of our currently held mutual funds.

In light of the long-standing APSA policy concerning the Sullivan Principles we recommend that this review be carried forward with an eye towards moving out of any fund that includes in its portfolio companies that do not adhere to these Principles, or firms that do business directly with the government of South Africa. We urge the Board to seek out alternative high-performance funds that meet these criteria.

Small Grant Program

In other action the Council increased the annual budget of the Small Grant Program to \$12,000 from \$10,000 and added an additional representative from a small college to the Research Support Committee which distributes the grants. President-elect Aaron Wildavsky announced that his appointee would be Huev Perry of Southern University.

Under the program grants up to \$1,500 are awarded to APSA members from non-Ph.D.-granting institutions as well as to those not affiliated with an academic institution for the purpose of assisting research. Fundable activities include such activities as travel to archives or to conduct interviews, purchase of datasets, and administration and coding of interviews. In 1985, the first year of the program, a total of ten grants were made. (See *PS*, Summer 1985, pp. 623-624.)

Editor's Note: See the Appendix of this issue of PS for complete Council minutes.

Samuel Huntington Elected President-Elect

Samuel P. Huntington, Eaton Professor of the Science of Government and director of the Center for International Affairs

at Harvard University, has been elected to serve as president-elect of APSA for 1985-86 and will assume the office of president in 1986-87.

Huntington was elected by acclamation at the Annual Business Meeting on August 31 in New Orleans along with the other nominees selected by the Nominating Committee for APSA offices and Council positions.

Theodore J. Lowi, Cornell University, Dale Rogers Marshall, University of California, Davis, and Donald R. Matthews, University of Washington, were elected vice-presidents of APSA for 1985-86. Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was elected secretary for 1985-86 and Helen Ingram, University of Arizona, was elected treasurer for the two-year term, 1985-87.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a two-year term (1985-87) are: John W. Kingdon, University of Michigan; Stephen D. Krasner, Stanford University; Paula D. McClain, Arizona State University; Karen O'Connor, Emory University; Carole Pateman, University of Sydney; G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester; Kenneth Shepsle, Washington University; and Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas.

Nominating Committee Seeks Suggestions

The Nominating Committee, headed by Nelson W. Polsby of the University of California, Berkeley, seeks suggestions for nominees to APSA offices.

The Committee will make nominations for eight Council positions, as well as the offices of secretary, vice presidents (three positions) and president-elect.

The members of the nominating committee are:

James A. Caporaso, Graduate School of International Studies, University of Denver, Denver, CO 80209.

Charles Hamilton, Department of Political Science, Columbia University, 420 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10027.