honors the memory of the late William Steiger, a Republican who represented the Sixth District of Wisconsin from 1966 until his untimely death in 1978. During his service in Congress, Representative Steiger was dedicated to the Congressional Fellowship Program. He was an active member of the program's advisory committee and, over the years, welcomed numerous Fellows to his staff. The Fellowship is awarded annually to a political scientist or journalist who best exemplifies Representative Steiger's values and interests.

Fundraising for the William A. Steiger Congressional Fellowship is under the direction of the William A. Steiger Congressional Fellowship Development Committee, which seeks to raise an endowment to support in perpetuity the Fellowship.

## Claude R. Marx: Poynter Fellow

Claude R. Marx, political reporter for the *Arkansas Democrat*, Little Rock, has been named the 1991-92 Poynter Fellow.



Claude R. Marx

In addition to his position with the *Democrat*, Mr. Marx is host and producer of a weekly political talk program for KARN-AM, Little Rock, and is a stringer for *The New York Times*. Before joining the *Democrat* he reported for the *Washington (DC) Times*, the *Nashua (New Hampshire) Telegraph* and the *Montgomery (Alabama) Advertiser*.

The Poynter Fellowship is awarded to a talented and promising print journalist. Funding is generously provided by the Poynter Fund, the charitable foundation of the Times Publishing Company whose publications include Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report and the associated publications of Congressional Quarterly, Inc., as well as the St. Petersburg Times. Andrew Barnes is President of the Poynter Fund and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Times Publishing Company.

All three fellowships are awarded through a rigorous national competition. Recipients participate in APSA's Congressional Fellowship Program which includes other political scientists and journalists, as well as health policy professionals, federal government executives, international fellows and others. Fellows spend nine months working closely with Members of Congress and congressional committees as legislative assistants and attending lectures by experts on the political process.

## APSA Membership: Twenty-Five Years and More

Jean Walen American Political Science Association

In the story that ran in last September's issue on who had been continuous members of the Association for 25 years or longer, there were several corrections:

Karl W. Deutsch joined in 1939, not 1945 John T. Dorsey joined in 1950, not 1960 William H. Riker joined in 1947, not 1963

Thirteen persons have been continuous members 60 years or longer, still led by Harold Gosnell (70 years), Francis Aumann and Marshall Dimock (65 years), E. Pendleton Herring, J. Roland Pennock, Joseph Pois (64 years), H. S. Foster, Dale Pontius (63 years), Ernest Griffith, Albert Lepawsky, Emmette Redford, Carroll Shaw (61 years) and David Fellman (60 years).

Those that can now join the 25 years or longer list are those members who joined in 1966:

David E. Albright Luther Allen Roger Anderson Henry J. Anna Theodore S. Arrington G. P. Atkins David N. Atkinson Lawrence N. Bailis Charles T. Barber Norman G. Barrier Abraham Bargman Norman G. Baarrier Paul A. Beck Jerome D. Becker Anne H. Bedlington Gerald Benjamin Roger W. Benjamin Susan Berg Elihu Bergman Richard S. Beth Jerome R. Bidinger Henry Bienen Donald Blake Carole Bouthilet D. E. Butler Allan W. Cameron Edward G. Carmines Paul J. Castellani J. George Chall Do Y. Chang Shirley Chapman Frank R. Cleminson Kenneth M. Coleman David Collier Frederick C. Collignon Richard Dale James L. Danielson E. D. David Harry R. Davis Don L. Diffenbaugh Delmer D. Dunn J. Richard Emmert Arthur English Kenneth Entin David H. Everson Barbara G. Farah Richard P. Farkas John Osgood Field Louis Fisher Stephen L. Fisher Harvey Flaumenhaft Richard S. Flickinger John G. Francis Harry J. Friedman David C. Garnham Julius S. Gassner Jovce Gelb Alexander L. George Leon Ginsberg Robert L. Goerder Leslie Goldstein Leonard Goodall Daniel R. Graves Saadia R. Greenberg

578

I. Grosart

William C. Gunderson

Bill K. Hall

William R. Hamilton Susan B. Hansen Elizabeth C. Hanson Robert E. Harkavv

Lyman H. Heine Jr.

Thomas R. Hensley

John E. Hill

Katherine A. Hinckley Williard A. Hoffman Robert E. Hunter Galen A. Irwin Robert J. Jackson Jane S. Jaquette Gerald W. Johnson

Heather Johnston Nicholson

Hugh E. Jones Bryan D. Jones William B. Julian Gilbert N. Kahn Herman W. Kane Doris M. Kanin Paul Kantor Harry F. Kelley Roman Kolkowicz Michael E. Kraft

Z. A. Kruszewski Daniel Latouche Kuo-wei Lee Richard Lehne David K. Leonard Paul Lermack

Robert J. Lieber Marvin Lieberman Sarah F. Liebschutz Milton G. Lodge Nancy Lombardo Charles Longley

Anita M. Mallinckrodt Gerhard Mally

Thomas E. Mann Jane Jebb Mansbridge George E. Marcus

Dale Marshall Donald F. Megnin J. Carl Metz

Arthur H. Miller Edward J. Miller Jon D. Miller

William C. Mithoefer Jr. David R. Morgan Emile A. Nakhleh William H. O'Brian Walter C. Opello Jr. Garv R. Orren Raymond E. Owen

T. J. Pempel H. T. Reynolds Denis D. Riley Joel Samoff

Thomas O. Schlesinger Seymour Schwartz Donald L. Scruggs Donna E. Shalala Kenneth Shepsle Barbara Sinclair Ronald M. Sirkin Stephen Slaner

Michael P. Smith Peter H. Solomon Jr. Thomas A. Spragens Jr.

Dean Sprague Manfred Stanley Frederick T. Steeper Ronald J. Steinberg A. J. Stevens James A. Stimson Richard P. Strada Howard A. Sugg

C. N. Tate Frank J. Thompson James R. Tilling George B. Trubow Gail Ullman Paul R. Viotti

Thomas Vocino James Wagman Paul J. Weber Robert J. Wehner Blair T. Weir Janet M. Wennik

Herbert H. Werlin John E. Wickman Gunnar Wikstrom Jr. Richard F. Winters Robert L. Youngblood

Nancy H. Zingale Peter R. Zwick

## **Bingham Powell Names** Melissa Collie APSR **Book Review Editor**

Bingham Powell, incoming managing editor of The American Political Science Review, has named Melissa P. Collie book review editor.

Collie is an associate professor in the department of government, University of Texas at Austin. She received her Ph.D. from Rice in 1984. She has also taught at Stanford and Rice Universities.

Her publications include "Incumbency, Electoral Safety, and Turnover in the House of Representatives. 1952-76," APSR, March 1981; "Universalism and the Parties in the U.S. House of Representatives, 1921-80," in American Journal of Political Science, November 1988 (this will be reprinted in Joel Silbey's forthcoming book, The Congress of the United States, 1789-1989); and "Multiple Referral and the 'New' Committee System in the House of Representatives," coauthored with Joseph Cooper, in Congress Reconsidered (Dodd and Oppenheimer, eds., 1989).

Powell, University of Rochester, replaces Samuel C. Patterson as managing editor and Collie replaces Helen C. Ingram, University of Arizona, as book review editor. Their first issue as the new editors will be the March 1992 issue, but manuscripts should be sent to Powell starting September 1 and books for review should be sent to Collie starting July 1, 1991.

September 1991 579