Regional and State Association News

Midwest Journal Has New Editor

Michael Lewis-Beck, University of Iowa, assumed the editorship of the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS) on January 1, 1991. Professor Lewis-Beck would like the political science community to know some general policy goals that he will pursue during his tenure as editor. The Journal will continue to support its special features, such as the Workshop and the Research Update. As well, the editor plans for sections of Commentary and Debate, and Review Essay to become more regular. AJPS is a general journal, publishing manuscripts in a very broad category—the scientific study of politics. The editor especially encourages the submission of manuscripts that, while scientifically rigorous, show theoretical breadth.

One of the biggest jobs as editor is finding good reviewers. Readers of this announcement can help, by sending names of qualified reviewers along with their fields and addresses to: Michael S. Lewis-Beck, *American Journal of Political Science*, Department of Political Science, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242.

Midwest Association Seeks Photos of Early Officers for 50th Annual Meeting

The Midwest Political Science Association Annual Meeting in 1992 will be held once again at the Palmer House Hotel in Chicago. The dates for this meeting are April 9-11, 1992. Please mark these dates and plan to attend the 50th Annual Meeting of the Midwest Political Science Association. If you have suggestions for ways to mark this milestone in our history, please send them to Charles O. Jones, President-elect, Political Science Department, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI 53706.

As part of our celebration of the 50th annual meeting, we are collecting photographs of past leaders of

the Midwest Political Science Association and its predecessor, the Midwest Conference of Political Scientists. If you are a past president, vice-president, secretary-treasurer, program chair, journal editor, or council member, please send a color or black and white photo of yourself to the association office. If you know of former officers and persons or organizations who have photos of these individuals, please ask them to make a photo available to the Association. We will return all photos. Send photos to: John Pelissero, Executive Director, Midwest Political Science Association, Loyola University Chicago, 6525 N. Sheridan Road, Chicago, IL 60626.

We are especially interested in photographs of the early officers of the organization:

James K. Pollock, University of Michigan (1939)

W. H. C. Laves, University of Chicago (1940)

Francis G. Wilson, University of Illinois (1941)

John E. Briggs, State University of Iowa (1942)

Howard White, Miami University Harold Zink, DePauw University

Llewellyn Pfankuchen, University of Wisconsin

Harold M. Door, University of Michigan (1950)

Charles M. Kneier, University of Illinois (1951)

Harold M. Vinacke, University of Cincinnati (1952)

Kirk H. Porter, State University of Iowa (1953)

Harry W. Voltmer, DePauw University (1954)

(Asher Christensen, University of Minnesota)

Edward H. Buehrig, Indiana University (1955; President since September 1954)

David Fellman, University of Wisconsin (1956)

Wilfred E. Binkley, Ohio Northern University (1957)

Clarence A. Berdahl, University of Illinois (1958)

Jasper B. Shannon, University of Nebraska (1959)

Army Vandenbosch, University of Kentucky (1960)

Lloyd M. Short, University of Minnesota (1961)

Richard Spencer, Coe College (1962)

E. Allen Helms, Ohio State University (1963)

William O. Farber, University of South Dakota (1964)

John E. Stoner, Indiana University (1965) Clara Penniman, University of Wisconsin (1966)

Vernon Van Dyke, University of Iowa (1967)

John D. Lewis, Oberlin College (1968) Samuel J. Eldersveld, University of Michigan (1969)

R. Taylor Cole Receives Dauer Award

R. Taylor Cole, Duke University, former President of APSA and former editor of the APSR, received the Manning J. Dauer, Jr. Award at the Southern Political Science Association meeting in Atlanta in November.

In presenting the award, Malcolm E. Jewel, University of Kentucky, made these remarks:

Taylor Cole is the second recipient of the Manning J. Dauer, Jr. Award, given to a political scientist who has performed exceptional service to the profession in the tradition personified by Manning J. Dauer of the University of Florida. Two years ago the first award was given to Evron Kirkpatrick, who served for 27 years as Executive Director of the American Political Science Association.

Taylor Cole, who spent almost his entire career at Duke University, has had a distinguished record as a scholar, teacher, and university administrator. He is the author or editor of eight books and many articles. He helped to develop the Commonwealth Studies program at Duke and was for many years a James B. Duke Professor. He served for nine years as Provost of Duke University, and early in



Malcolm Jewell (l), R. Taylor Cole, Walter E. Beach

his tenure played a central role in the admission of black students to Duke.

The range of his scholarly interests has been wide, particularly in the field of comparative politics. He has written extensively about Europe and the British Commonwealth, about bureaucracy, federalism, and fascism. This academic background made him particularly valuable as an adviser to General Lucius Clay in postwar Germany on the problems of democratizing German institutions.

But it is for his extraordinary service to the political science profession that this award is given to Taylor Cole. He served for three years (1950-53) as managing editor of the *American Political Science Review*. This was a crucial period in the history of the *Review*, which had been edited by Frederic Ogg for 24 years. Taylor Cole decentralized the operation of the *Review*, and expanded the number of persons participating in the refereeing process.

In 1958-59 Taylor Cole served as President of the American Political Science Association, one of very few southerners to hold that position. He also played a major role on the Social Science Research Council and its Committee on Comparative Politics from 1952 to 1969.

It is Taylor Cole's major contributions to the Southern Political Science Association that make him a most appropriate recipient of the award named after Manning Dauer. He began participating in the Association in 1935, when he joined the Duke faculty. He served as President of the Southern Political Science Association in 1951-52.

From 1946 to 1949 Taylor Cole served

as the second editor of the Journal of Politics, succeeding Robert Harris. When the Journal was established in 1939, there were serious doubts about whether the Association could support a major journal. The development of the Journal of Politics as one of the leading political science journals in the country is obviously due in no small measure to the hard work that was done and the high standards that were established by its early editors. Taylor Cole initiated the practice of publishing occasional symposium volumes, which gave the Journal of Politics both visibility and much needed income.

During the fifteen years of his "retirement" he has remained professionally active, continuing to write and publish. He is a familiar figure at professional conferences. In his service to his students and colleagues, to his university, and to the political science discipline, he is a true professional.

The award committee consisted of Walter E. Beach, Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation, chair; Margaret M. Conway, University of Florida; and Maurice C. Woodard, Howard University.

Upcoming Conferences

See "Upcoming Conferences and Call for Papers" in this issue of PS for information on annual meetings of Southern and Northeastern Political Science Associations.

March 1991 93