42. COMMISSION DES ETOILES DOUBLES PHOTOMETRIQUES

Report of Meetings

PRESIDENT: J.E. Merrill. SECRETARY: R.H. Koch.

Business Sessions

The business meetings of Commission 42 at the XIII General Assembly of the IAU were held August 23 and 29, 1967, Dr. Merrill presiding. This summary has been compiled from the minutes of the separate meetings.

A resolution of condolence and remembrance was offered by Mrs Kron:

'Commission 42 has lost one of its finest as well as one of its relatively rare Southern Hemisphere members in the death of Arthur R. Hogg.

In 1927 he joined the staff of the then Commonwealth Observatory at Mt. Stromlo, Australia. As a talented painstaking observational astronomer he made many contributions of permanent value. These include atlas photographs of the southern skies and photoelectric photometric work on open clusters that he had discovered, light curves of eclipsing binaries and at least one photoelectric standard magnitude sequence. The last task, a fundamental but often thankless one, was typical of his unselfish considerate nature.

The last few years of his life were mainly devoted to carrying on the duties of deputy director of Mt. Stromlo. A heart attack a few months after the Hamburg meeting of the IAU meant the too-early end of a fully active career. Yet in April 1966, he had just finished delivering a speech the evening before he passed away quietly at dawn.

Gone now is the chance to enjoy his brilliant metaphors in both verbal and 'private' communications. We shall miss them and the colleague who made them—Arthur R. Hogg.'

A resolution of condolence and remembrance was offered by Dr Wright:

'Commission 42 lost one of its founding members and a great observer of double and variable stars in the death of Dean B. McLaughlin. For forty years he combined visual magnitude observations with spectrographic observations and was one of the very few who were able to compare visual magnitude and radial velocity curves obtained at the same time. This commission has repeatedly urged this practice and should continue to do so.

Dean McLaughlin worked at Michigan most of his life with a small telescope by modern standards, but he accomplished more than most of us with his studies of spectroscopic binaries, Be-stars, the ratio V/B in the hydrogen lines, and novae. From the point of view of our Commission, probably the most interesting of his achievements was the discovery of the zeta Aur-type binaries—VV Cep, 31 Cyg and 32 Cyg. He demonstrated clearly the possibility of determining dimensions of these systems combining early and late-type components.

McLaughlin was an almost perfect researcher and inspired many of his students to follow his path. We shall miss him.'

A resolution of condolence and remembrance was offered by Dr Popper:

'In suddenly losing R. M. Petrie the astronomical profession has lost one of its most respected members at the height of an exceptionally fruitful career. While he made lasting contributions in numerous fields of stellar astronomy, his impact on the interpretation of the spectra of eclipsing binaries was unique and will continue to have profound influence.

Consciously or subconsciously, each of us in writing his scientific papers must be looking to someone whose insight and judgement serve as prods and guides in our own work. For me, R.M. Petrie has been such a person since I heard his first paper nearly thirty years ago. He never wrote a trivial paper. His advice, sought in the highest councils of our profession, was always thoughtful and wise. We shall miss him.'

A resolution of condolence and remembrance was offered by Dr O'Connell:

'The unexpected death of Professor Herbert Schneller represents a grievous loss for all variable star astronomers and, in particular, for those working in the field of eclipsing binaries. By his long-continued observations and original studies he contributed greatly to the development of this branch of astronomy. His greatest contribution, however, was his bibliography of variable stars. The series of splendid volumes of the *Geschichte und Literatur der veränderlichen Sterne* which he published must always be an indispensable work of reference for variable star astronomers as long as active work is being done in this field. I cannot imagine a time when they will not be needed so that Schneller has indeed, together with his predecessors—Müller, Hartwig and Prager—a lasting monument in the *Geschichte und Literatur*.'

These four resolutions were adopted unanimously and are to be sent to the respective widows. Consideration of the 'Bibliography and Program Notes for Eclipsing Binaries' (hereafter BPN) resulted in the creation of a permanent standing committee on the BPN, with Dr Larsson-Leander as chairman. Some minor changes in format and in mailing procedures will be made.

Dr Wood summarized the past and continuing cooperative observing campaigns on WSer, SXCas, VVCep, epsilon Aur, zeta Aur, 31 Cyg, 32 Cyg, UCrB and HD 128 220. For next triennium AR Cas and GL Car were chosen as the newly added systems with the programs to be coordinated by Drs Kitamura and Serkowski, if possible. A new Committee on Cooperative Programs was named with Mrs Kron as chairman, Drs Gyldenkerne, Kitamura, Magalishvili, Sahade, Wood as additional members.

It was voted to disband the Joint (26, 42) Working Group. The Joint (30, 42) Working Group is to be continued and will co-opt one astronomer from Commission 26. From Commission 42 representation is Drs Batten (chairman), Plavec, Popper, Sahade. The Committee on Times of Minima was re-formed under Dr Herczeg, chairman, and will attempt to obtain wider cooperation in observation of stars on its selected list. Additional committee members are Drs Binnendijk, Cester, Knipe, Plavec, Szafraniec. The following members represent Commission 42 on the Organizing Committee for the Fourth Variable Star Colloquium: Drs Merrill, O'Connell and Wood.

The Commission voted to approve the following requests for IAU subventions toward partial support for: (1) mailing expenses for the BPN, (2) administrative expenses for the Fourth Variable Star Colloquium, and (3) publication of the Cracow Eclipsing Binaries Circulars. The Commission also adopted resolutions identical to those passed by Commission 27 on the desirability of continuing the publication of the Geschichte und Literatur der veränderlichen Sterne and of an IAU subvention toward streamlining and continuing the work of the Variable Star Bureau of the Astronomical Council of the USSR Academy of Sciences.

It was voted to accept the Draft Report, with such minor changes as had been submitted.

With Dr F. B. Wood and Dr M. Plavec named as President and Vice-President, respectively, for 1967–1970, it was voted that Drs Batten, Herczeg, Kitamura, Larsson-Leander, Merrill and Čessevič constitute the Organizing Committee for the triennium.

The meeting concluded with resolutions of thanks to the several persons who contributed materially to the work of the Commission during the sessions and during the preceding three years.