AERONAUTICAL JOURNAL VOL-LXX

THE ROYAL AERONAUTICAL SOCIETY

The Journal of the Royal Aeronautical Society

INCORPORATING THE INSTITUTION OF AERONAUTICAL ENGINEERS AND THE HELICOPTER ASSOCIATION OF GREAT BRITAIN

VOLUME LXX

JANUARY - DECEMBER 1966

Edited for the Council of The Royal Aeronautical Society

by

Joan Bradbrooke, ARAeS

Printed by the Lewes Press Wightman and Co. Ltd., Friars Walk, Lewes, Sussex and Published by the Royal Aeronautical Society, 4 Hamilton Place, London W.1

Journal of THE ROYAL AERONAUTICAL SOCIETY

INCORPORATING THE INSTITUTION OF AERONAUTICAL ENGINEERS AND THE HELICOPTER ASSOCIATION OF GREAT BRITAIN

Published Monthly at 4 HAMILTON PLACE, LONDON W1

Telephone: Grosvenor 3515-9

Telegrams: Didaskalos, London, W1

Subscriptions: £10 10s. 0d. per annum, post free

Single Copies: 17s. 6d.

Advertisements only: J. W. Williams, DFC, Magazine Advertising Ltd, 36-38 Whitefriars St., London, EC4.

Fleet Street 7539

VOLUME 70

AUGUST 1966

NUMBER 668

CONTENTS

Page The Future of British Aerospace—The President LV LVII **Notices** New Fellows—A History of Aviation in Scotland—"British Light Aviation"—Acknowledgments— Journal of Strain Analysis—Rotorcraft Section Annual Dinner—Presentation to W. Isbister—Elections—Diary—Other Meetings—Library Note—The Birthday Honours List—News of Members—Lecture Summary-Survey of Professional Engineering Manpower-New Zealand Division Centenary Dinner. The Branches LX Graduates' and Students' Section LXI 749 Sir Sydney Camm Symposium on Metallic Materials 757 T. W. Smith 802 An Approach to Economic Space Transportation 811 The Centenary Garden Party 814 Technical Note A New Approach to Airline Economics—The Vehicle Millemile (VMM)—R. W. E. Willis. The Library 819 Reviews:— Etude des tranferts en mécanique des fluides monophasiques—Space Science and Engineering-Solution of Cubic and Quartic Equations.

All communications for publication in the JOURNAL should be addressed to the Editor, JOAN BRADBROOKE, ARAeS; all communications on general matters affecting the Society should be addressed to the Secretary, A. M. BALLANTYNE, OBE, TD, BSc, PhD, FRAeS, HonFCASI, FAIAA—at 4 HAMILTON PLACE, LONDON, W1.

Additions to the Library

Reproduction in whole or in part of any of the papers and contributions published in this Journal is not permitted without the written consent of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Reports

None of the papers or paragraphs must be taken as expressing the opinion of the Council of the Royal Aeronautical Society unless otherwise stated.

The Royal Aeronautical Society

FOUNDED 1866

INCORPORATED BY ROYAL CHARTER 1949

Patron: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN

COUNCIL

Honorary President: H.R.H. THE PRINCE PHILIP, DUKE OF EDINBURGH, KG (Hon Fellow)

President: A. D. BAXTER, MEng, CEng, FRAeS

President-Elect: M. B. MORGAN, CB, MA, CEng, FRAeS

Vice-Presidents:

PROFESSOR D. KEITH-LUCAS, MA, CEng, FRAeS
AIR COMMODORE F. R. BANKS, CB, OBE, CEng, CGIA, Hon FAIAA, FRAeS, RAF(retd)
PROFESSOR J. A. J. BENNETT, DSc, PhD, CEng, FAIAA, FRAeS
(Also Chairman, Rotorcraft Section)

Past-Presidents:

PROFESSOR A. R. COLLAR, CBE, MA, DSc, CEng, FRS, FAIAA, FCASI, FRAeS H. H. GARDNER, BSc, CEng, FRAeS SIR GEORGE GARDNER, KBE, CB, HonDSc, CEng, HonFRAeS

Members:

MAJOR G. P. BULMAN, CBE, BSc, CEng, FRAeS
R. H. BURRIN, GradRaes (Chairman, Graduates' and Students' Section)
H. CAPLAN, DCAe, CEng, AFRAeS
SIR WALTER CAWOOD, KBE, CB, BSc, PhD, FRAeS
A. V. CLEAVER, OBE, CEng, AFAIAA, FRAeS
SIR ROBERT COCKBURN, KBE, CB, MSc, PhD, CEng, FRAeS
S. D. DAVIES, BSc (Eng), CEng, FRAeS
DR. W. F. HILTON, DSc, DIC, CEng, AFAIAA, FRAeS
DR. G. S. HISLOP, BSc, ARCST, CEng, FRAeS
D. B. HUDSON, BSc, BE, CEng, FRAeS (President of the Australian Division)
B. P. LAIGHT, MSc, CEng, FRAeS
A. A. LOMBARD, CEng, FRAeS
P. G. MASEFIELD, MA, CEng, HonFAIAA, FRAES
AIR COMMODORE J. R. MORGAN, OBE, BSc (Eng), CEng, FRAES, RAF (retd)
DR. E. S. MOULT, CBE, BSc, CEng, FRAES
W. N. NEAT, CEng, FRAES (Chairman, Astronautics and Guided Flight Section)
CAPTAIN J. ORBELL, MBE, AFRAES (President of the Rhodesia Division)
F. W. PAGE, CBE, MA, CEng, FRAES
PROFESSOR E. J. RICHARDS, OBE, MA, DSc, CEng, FRAES
C. G. VAN NIEKERK, DSc (Eng), CEng, AFRAES
(President of the Southern Africa Division)
G. T. WANSBROUGH-WHITE, ARAES
K. G. WILKINSON, BSc, DIC, ACGI, CEng, FRAES
J. E. D. WILLIAMS, BSC, FRAES
GROUP CAPTAIN W. G. WOODWARD, OBE, BE, CEng, FRAES, RNZAF (President of the New Zealand Division)

Officers:

Hon. Treasurer: MAJOR G. P. BULMAN, CBE, BSc, CEng, FRAeS Solicitor: L. A. WINGFIELD, MC, DFC (Hon Companion) Secretary: DR. A. M. BALLANTYNE, OBE, TD, BSc, CEng, FAIAA, HonFCASI, FRAeS

Note: The President of each Division and the Chairman of each Section of the Society is a Member of Council by reason of his office.