# The Canadian Journal of ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

Journal of the Canadian Political Science Association

VOLUME XXX FEBRUARY TO NOVEMBER 1964

## PUBLISHED QUARTERLY BY UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

## EXECUTIVE COUNCIL OF THE CANADIAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION/ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES SCIENCES POLITIQUES

#### President, JEAN-CHARLES FALARDEAU

Past Presidents	Vice-Presidents		Secretary-Treasurer
W. J. WAINES	Charles Lemelin	Frank MacKinnon	H. C. Eastman
C. B. MACPHERSON	J. R. Mallory	A. E. Safarian	

#### Elected Members

Elected Members					
Albert Breton Guy Bourassa Jean Burnet Hubert Guindon	Pauline Jewett R. L. James Alain Jubinville S. F. Kaliski	J. A. LAPONCE R. A. MUNDELL MICHAEL OLIVER G. L. REUBER	L. A. Skeoch Douglas Verney		

Representatives of the Boards of Editors

J. H. Dales J. Burnet

Representative Member of the SSRCC

C. B. Macpherson

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929; its object is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada. Members receive a copy of either the Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press, or the Canadian Review of Sociology and Anthropology/La Revue canadianne de sociologie et d'anthropologie, published quarterly for the Association at the University of Alberta, Calgary. Correspondence with the Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 100 St. George Street, Toronto 5, Canada.

#### Membership Fees

Ordinary, either publication, \$6.00 per annum Ordinary, both publications, \$12.00 per annum Student, either publications, \$3.00 per annum Student, both publications, \$6.00 per annum Life, C.J.E.P.S. only, \$90.00

### THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

#### BOARD OF EDITORS

Managing Editor: J. H. Dales, University of Toronto

J. E. Hodgetts, Queen's University
A. D. Scott, University of British Columbia

Norman Ward, University of Saskatchewan J. C. Weldon, McGill University

REVIEW EDITORS

D. F. Forster, University of Toronto

P. H. Russell, University of Toronto

#### **EDITORIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

The Committee consists of the members of the Executive Council of the Canadian Political Science Association, with the President of the Association as Chairman.

The Journal publishes reviews and articles in economics, political science, and related fields. The articles are indexed in the *International Index to Periodicals* and the *Canadian Index*. Abstracts of articles in political science appear in *International Political Science Abstracts/Documentation politique internationale*; abstracts of articles in economics appear in the *Journal of Economic Abstracts*.

Manuscripts and correspondence relating to the Journal should be addressed to the Managing Editor, 100 St. George Street, Toronto 5. Orders for copies of the Journal, and notices of change of address, should be addressed to Mrs. Joyce Wry, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Political Science Association, 100 St. George Street, Toronto 5. Remittances should be made payable to the Canadian Political Science Association.

Authorized as second-class mail by the Post Office Department, Ottawa, and for payment of postage in cash. Postage paid at Toronto.