Association News

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 14 winners in the national competition for the 1973-74 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners — seven political scientists and seven journalists — will come to the Nation's Capitol for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The Program is financed by a Ford Foundation grant, and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1973-74 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about December 15, 1973. The Program ends August 15, 1974.

The 14 winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

Political Scientists

J. Vincent Buck, 32, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Boston University Albert D. Cover, 25, Ph.D. Candidate, Yale University

Ada W. Finifter, 34, Associate Professor of Political Science, Michigan State University Robert L. Kerr, 31, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Pittsburgh

Jeanne O. Nienaber, 30, Ph.D. Candidate, University of California, Berkeley

George C. Shipley, 25, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas, Austin

James A. Thurber, 29, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Washington State University

Journalists

John D. Bell, 28, Minority Affairs Reporter, Seattle Times

Whitney M. Gould, 29, Environmental Reporter, The Capitol Times, Madison, Wisconsin Samuel A. Jacobs, 29, Reporter, Miami Herald Jimmy R. Lewis, 33, County Government Reporter, Sacramento Union

Jill Marti, 28, Television Producer-Reporter, WCAU-TV, Philadelphia

Clifford A. Miller, 33, Reporter, *The Post Crescent,* Appleton, Wisconsin

Jan K. Stucker, 27, Metro Affairs Staff Reporter, The State newspaper, Columbia, South Carolina

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced thirty-one winners in the competition for the 1973-74 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1973-74 to attend the university of their choice and twentyfive non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The selections were made by the Committee on Fellowships of the Committee on the Status of Blacks composed of Robert Martin, Chairman, Howard University, Twiley W. Barker, University of Illinois-Chicago Circle, Herbert Sapp, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and Nathaniel Tillman, Olive-Harvey College.

Funded Fellows

Michael W. Combs, Southern University Isa Maria Infante, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz Deborah L. Johnson, Mills College Linda S. Seagraves, Radcliffe College Betty J. Shaw, Jackson State College Johnnie L. Ware, Ouachita Baptist University

Non-Funded Fellows (Alternates)

Eustace L. Arrindell, College of the Virgin Islands Brace B. Godfrey, Southern University Richard L. Bragg, Coppin State College Margie P. Green, Virginia State College Anthony Finch, Univ. of California, Berkeley Jacquelyn Sneed, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz

Non-Funded Fellows

Oscar W. Brown, Florida A&M University Rowland A. Christian, Florida A&M University Nathan F. Conley, University of Missouri, St. Louis Ivory T. Curtis, Whittier College Frank J. Hardy, LaVerne College Gerald L. Jackson, Jersey City State College Nathaniel I. Kokumo, Central State University Denzil D. McKenzie, Univ. of Massachusetts Irma D. Moore, Florida A&M University Raymond Mosley, West Georgia College Enchelle D. Moultrie, Northern Illinois Univ. Freeman W. Pollard, University of South Alabama Marsha L. Sampson, Jacksonville University Alfonso Sherald, Kentucky State University Matt F. Thompson, Lincoln University Barbara F. Wilkerson, University of Georgia Joseph F. Wilson, Columbia College Doris Wright, Hunter College Mary E. Wright, University of North Carolina, Greensboro

APSA Committees

The following is a list of Association Committees with members who have been appointed by Presidents of the Association with the consent of the Council. Members of the Association are invited to correspond with the Chairman of any Committee concerning subjects with which his or her Committee is dealing.

I. Award Committees

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Book Award

Marian Irish, American, *Chairman*Gabriel A. Almond, Stanford
Frank Sorauf, Minnesota

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

Richard Neustadt, Harvard, Chairman Elinor Ostrom, Indiana James McGregor Burns, Williams

E. E. Schattschneider Award

Clement E. Vose, Wesleyan, Chairman Katherine Hinckley, Akron Joseph Schlesinger, Michigan State

Helen Dwight Reid Award

Joseph S. Nye, Harvard, *Chairman* Sophia Peterson, West Virginia Jeremy R. Azrael, Chicago

Edward S. Corwin Award

Joel Grossman, Wisconsin, Madison, Chairman

George F. Cole, Connecticut William Beaney, Denver

Leonard D. White Award

C. Herman Pritchett, California, Santa Barbara, Chairman

Deil Wright, North Carolina, Chapel Hill Frank N. Marini, Syracuse

Pi Sigma Alpha Award

Donald S. Strong, Alabama, *Chairman* Lewis C. Mainzer, Massachusetts Donald Hanson, Utah

II. Constitutional Committee

Nominating Committee

Terms expiring December 31, 1974
Inis L. Claude, Virginia
Barbara A. Hinckley, Wisconsin, Madison
Warren E. Miller, Michigan
Terms expiring December 31, 1973
Alex N. Dragnich, Vanderbilt
William J. Keefe, Pittsburgh
Allan P. Sindler, California, Berkeley, Chairman

III. Council Committees

Administrative Committee

Valerie A. Earle, Georgetown
Charles V. Hamilton, Columbia
Donald G. Herzberg, Eagleton Institute
Charles O. Jones, Pittsburgh
Avery Leiserson, Vanderbilt
William S. Livingston, Texas, Austin
Robert E. Ward, Michigan, Chairman

Finance Committee

Samuel D. Cook, Duke Robert H. Horwitz, Kenyon College Charles O. Jones, Pittsburgh, Chairman

Election Committee

Gerhard Loewenberg, Iowa Ruth Silva, Pennsylvania State, *Chairman* Sidney Wise, Franklin & Marshall

Rules Committee

Paul Y. Hammond, Rand Corporation Samuel Krislov, Minnesota, *Chairman* Roberta Sigel, SUNY, Buffalo

IV. Committees Created for Special Purposes

Editorial Board of PS

Terms expiring December 31, 1975