NEWS

ANNUAL SUSTAINING MEMBERS OF THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY

Amoco Production Company Anglo-American Clays Corporation Freeport Kaolin Company General Refractories Company Georgia Kaolin Company A. P. Green Refractories Company Halliburton Company J. M. Huber Corporation, Clay Division Magcobar Operations, Dresser Industries Marathon Oil Company Thiele Kaolin Company Union Oil Company of California Cyprus Industrial Minerals Company

COMMITTEES OF THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY, 1974-75

Executive Committee

J. C. Hathaway, President S. B. McCaleb, Vice President B. L. Sawhney, Secretary

Finis Turner, Treasurer

R. A. Rowland, Editor

J. W. Jordan, Immediate Past President

John Hower, Vice President nominee

Council

Executive Committee

Chairmen of Standing Committees

R. K. Leininger, 75 J. K. Mitchell, 75

W. C. Ormsby, 75

J. E. Brydon, 75

Sidney Diamond, 76

Joe B. Dixon, 76

R. G. Gast, 76

S. H. Patterson, 76 T. F. Bates, 77

L. G. Schultz, 77

V. E. Nash, 77

D. W. Scafe, 77

Standing Committees

1. Finance and Budget

(five voting members)

Haydn Murray (Chairman)

J. F. Burst

R. E. Grim

M. L. Jackson

Finis Turner (Treasurer, Ex Officio)

2. Policy and Administration

(five voting members)

J. D. Dixon, 76 (Chairman)

W. A. White, 75

J. B. Hayes, 77

J. W. Jordan (Immediate Past President)

Haydn Murray, Ex Officio

3. Publications

W. E. Parham (Chairman)

E. Penner, 75

E. Perry, 76

W. H. Huang, 77

B. L. Sawhney (Secretary, Ex Officio)

R. A. Rowland (Editor, Ex Officio)

4. Nominations

(five voting members: two from Council, three not on

Council)

I. E. Odom (Academic) (Chairman)

W. M. Bundy (Industry)

S. M. Savin (Academic)

R. K. Leininger (Government) (Council)

W. C. Ormsby (Government) (Council)

Ad hoc Committees

1. Membership

S. B. McCaleb (Vice President) (Chairman)

W. H. Bellis

J. Hoffman

B. Jones

K. M. Towe

B. L. Sawhney (Secretary, Ex Officio)

2. Program Quality Control

D. W. Scafe (Chairman)

P. C. Franks

P. M. Huang

T. R. McKee L. G. Schultz

3. Publicity and Public Relations

W. F. Hower (Chairman)

J. E. Brydon

R. L. Burtner

R. E. Ferrell

B. L. Sawhney (Secretary, Ex Officio)

4. Meeting Places

W. E. Moody (Chairman)

J. E. Gillott

W. H. Slabaugh M. E. Harward

V. G. Hill

5. Placement Service

N. Güven (Chairman)

S. B. McCaleb

G. W. Kunze

6. Nomenclature

G. W. Brindley (Chairman)

R. T. Martin

H. Kodama

S. W. Bailey

M. Ross

7. Source Clay Minerals

W. F. Moll (Chairman)

W. D. Johns

H. van Olphen

D. J. Weintritt

8. Clay Data Handbook

H. van Olphen (Chairman)

J. H. Rimsaite

A. C. Wright

9. Advisor to Central Office Administrator

Finis Turner

10. Liaison Representatives

AIPEA JCPDS MSA

SSSA 1975 Mexico City joint

meeting with AIPEA Sustaining Members G. W. Brindley J. C. Hathaway

S. W. Bailey G. W. Kunze

R. A. Rowland E. C. Jonas

Finis Turner

1975 INTERNATIONAL CLAY CONFERENCE, MEXICO

The U.S. Clay Minerals Society will hold its 1975 meeting concurrently with the International Clay Conference to be held in Mexico City, 16-23 July 1975. Subjects for the Technical Sessions will be: Geology and diagenesis; Crystal chemistry and structures; Geochemistry, genesis, and synthesis; Colloidal properties; Surface chemistry; Analytical techniques; Interaction between clays and organic and inorganic pollutants.

In addition to the above subjects, a session on "Clays and the Origin of Life" is planned for 15 July.

Several field trips are scheduled to clay deposits in the United States as well as Mexico and will be held before and during the conference.

Details of the conference may be obtained by writing to:

1975 International Clay Conference The Organizing Committee Instituto de Geologia Universidad Nacional A. de Mexico Aptdo. 70296 Mexico 20, D.F. Mexico.